Proud

Since I had an acceptably pleasant experience writing my first Daily Prompt earlier this week, I figured I’d try my hand at another:

Daily Prompt: Proud

When was the last time someone told you they were proud of you?

I don’t actually know the answer to this question.

When we’re young, it’s easy to have people be proud of us.  It’s just about every day that Mrs. Cutter or I tell the Cutlet that we’re proud of her.

Accomplishments like making a bowel movement on the potty (and not in her bed!) or behaving well when out at a restaurant are usually causes for praise.

Just last night, she was doing well playing her Disney Princess Memory game and I told her I was proud of her.

Once you’re an adult, people get held to slightly higher standards.  This is very understandable.  If people wanted to praise me every time I went to the bathroom, I’d probably be a little freaked out.

Maybe I should put this up at my work desk

Maybe I should put this up at my work desk

Admittedly, I’m not doing anything especially praise worthy.  A fire fighter who helps put out a fire, or a surgeon who performs a successful operation probably have plenty of people wanting to praise them.

As a web developer, I don’t get too many people saying they’re proud of me because I got a conference registration form up on time.  In fact, they’ll usually just be waiting to point out changes that need to be made.

I think if I really want people to tell me that they’re proud of me, I need to accomplish something.  Maybe I should train for and complete a race.  Maybe I should raise money for charity.  Maybe I should actually complete my novel.

Until I start actually achieving things, I guess I’ll just have to hope that somebody finally notices my excellent job of peeing in the toilet.

Although now that I think about it, my daughter did tell me she was proud of me.  But it was right after she used the potty, and she’s not especially good with pronouns.  So I don’t think that really counts.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Proud

  1. Mrs. Cutter says:

    I’m proud of you for working to increase your blog traffic and doing more of what you love. :)

  2. Kenton Lewis says:

    Finish your novel and be proud of yourself.

  3. i’m proud of you for being funny!

  4. MissFourEyes says:

    Hey now, everyone should be proud of their bowel movements. Everyone!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Proud – Poem / Poetry – A Double Edged Sword | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  6. Pingback: What’s pride got to do with it? | She Said What?

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Proud … Thank you kind Sir | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

Got Something to Say?

