Five Items

Today’s Daily Prompt asked: A classic question, revisited: what are the five items you must have on a deserted island?

I’m going to assume that this deserted island won’t have any electrical power and that AT&T’s 3G coverage will not extend there.  (I knew I should have switched to Verizon!)  If those assumptions are true, my iPhone would be of very limited use.

Unless of course I stumbled onto one of the Dharma Initiative's secret bases.  (Image source)

Unless of course I stumbled onto one of the Dharma Initiative’s secret bases. (Image source)

I’ll also assume that it would be cheating to have my five items be a raft, a motor, a navigation system, shark repellant, and a month’s supply of food and water.  So I’ll try to play fair and go with these five things instead:

1. A notebook – I’ll probably have a lot of time to think while stranded on the island.  In fact, if this island is truly deserted, I’ll likely be doing almost nothing but thinking.  (At least when I’m not busy romancing a volleyball.)  I figure that at some point, a few deep or important thoughts will come to me, so it would be nice to be able to write them down.

I’d also be able to keep a journal of my time on the island, which would probably go a long way towards keeping me sane.  Who knows?  Maybe I’d get rescued, and I could work my notes into a best-selling book.

2. A pen – Because it would suck to have a notebook with no way to write in it.

3. A knife – I’m not the most outdoorsy person, and I am not especially optimistic about my chances for survival if left in the wilderness.  Yet, I’d like my chances more if I could at least have some sort of useful tool with me.

4. A towelThe Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy tells us that a towel is the most important thing that a person can bring with them, and who am I to argue with the galaxy’s best-selling book?  Even if it wasn’t HHGTTG recommended, I’d probably think it was a good idea to have a towel on hand.  I figure that if I’m on an island, I’m going to be spending a decent amount of time in the water.  It would be nice if I could dry off afterwards.

Don't forget to bring a towel! (Image source)

Don’t forget to bring a towel! (Image source)

5. A picture of Mrs. Cutter and the Cutlet – Even if we were separated, I’d still be comforted by being able to look at them every day.  Of course, after a month or so, I’d start to drive myself nuts by wondering if Mrs. Cutter had “given up on me” and moved on to another man.

I know, it would be ridiculous to think that.  She’d give it at least six months.

So how about you guys?  What items would be your “must haves” on a deserted island?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Five Items

  1. a towel??? huh? didn’t see that one coming..

  2. vernette says:

    lmao…this just makes me want to say “thanks for all the fish.”

  3. djmatticus says:

    Knife, notebooks, pens, picture of the queen and little prince, (for all the same reasons) and… tricky, tricky. I’m not going to pick a towel, even though it is the single most important thing to take when traveling, because I’ll have no way to wash it and after awhile it will be useless… Therefore, my fifth item would be a flint rock… I could make fire without it, but it would just make the whole process easier.

    • The Cutter says:

      I thought about that, but I figure I could just use some sticks or something.

    • djmatticus says:

      Completely doable… I’ve done it. It’s actually easier to use some twine (made from stripped reeds, bark, etc…) as a sort of violin bow to amplify the pressure/fiction and keep it focused on a more specific spot… But, it is a pain either way.

  4. Pingback: Five items to bring to a deserted island | Words 'n Pics

  5. afsheenanjum says:

    hehehe .. we have two things in common … a photo and knife :D good one

  6. Fleur De Seoul says:

    You’re one sassy frood.

  7. the Urban Strategist says:

    I hate to admit it, but I’m a bit of a cheater… I always say I would bring Arnold Schwarzenegger with me because wherever he is, the man always has a chopper near by, both in movies, and in real life. And just in case I end up on that same island as Predator, then I’ll be set! Seems handy!? But in a real case scenario, I vote knife, tarp, and a waterproof/ storm repellent onesie. And you can almost bet I will be making a still on my first night, moonshine made from local island fruits/veg. Heck I could even fashion a mud brick house for the still to get the heat appropriate to brew!

    • The Cutter says:

      You’re like a boozy version of the Professor from Gilligan’s Island.

    • the Urban Strategist says:

      I busted out laughing when I read this, haha, I never thought of it that way. I’ll take it. Maybe my coconut phone will work a little better once I get some tropical moonshine in me.

  8. I have a feeling that towel would be bringing some stuff of his own to the island…

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Five Items | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Five Items | On My Front Porch

  11. Pingback: Stranded on a Deserted Island? | Cheri Speak

  12. Pingback: What Five Things Would You Not Want? (This Prompt Is Stupid) | The Jittery Goat

  13. E. says:

    Never go anywhere without a towel! :D

    I think I’d probably want some sort of water-purification thing so I’m not looney after a week of drinking salt water.

  14. Pingback: Necessities | Manresa, Maine

  15. Pingback: Surfer Rob: King of the Island! | Rob's Surf Report

  16. Pingback: Thousand – No, Five Island | Edward Hotspur

  17. Pingback: Five items | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  18. Pingback: 42 in Review | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

