Snowmen, Neighbors, and Strawberry Shortcake

We’ve gotten a bit of snow in the DC area.  I woke up this morning to find our road covered with at least an inch of snow, with a good deal more still falling.

Since I lack vacation time, and I hadn’t heard any official word from the office, I was planning on heading in to work.  Mrs. Cutter had already resigned herself to working from home, but my office doesn’t really encourage telecommuting.

After taking another look outside, I decided that office policy or not, it wasn’t a good idea to drive until the plows came through.  I logged on remotely, and surprisingly, I got a decent amount of work done.

Of course, my level of productivity decreased as soon as the Cutlet awoke from her slumber.  Surprisingly, the Cutlet’s preschool was open, but neither Mrs. Cutter nor I were especially eager to drive her anywhere on sub-optimal roads.

Our solution: Strawberry Shortcake.  The Cutlet recently obtained a book where Strawberry and friends put on a ballet performance, and since then, Ms. Shortcake has quickly become her latest obsession.

I checked to see if there were any episodes of Strawberry’s cartoon available on demand.  Sure enough there were, but I accidentally chose one from the previous incarnation of the show.

Every so often, these cartoons tend to “reboot” with new versions.  The basic concepts remain the same, but the character designs will change just enough to justify creating brand new toys for parents to buy.

Strawberry Shortcake past and present

Strawberry Shortcake past and present

The previous version of Strawberry had a more “tomboyish” style, with baggy jeans and an omnipresent sweatshirt tied around her waist.  The newer version has longer hair and prefers a skirt and leggings.

Apparently, the Cutlet prefers the modern version, probably because that’s the version that stars in her beloved book.  So once that first episode was over, I had to track down an episode from the new show as well.

Even Strawberry Shortcake could only occupy the Cutlet for so long.  I realized that she’d require some actual human interaction, so once her show was over, I found a good stopping point with my work.  At about the same time, Mrs. Cutter finished up with a phone conference, and we all headed outside.

Sorry, Frosty.  No carrot, no deal.  (Image source)

Sorry, Frosty. No carrot, no deal. (Image source)

While I was busy shoveling the driveway and sidewalk, Mrs. Cutter and the Cutlet set about building a snowman.  The Cutlet was very excited about the snowman, and was especially concerned with the carrot that we’d use for his nose.  Apparently, snowmen MUST have carrot noses.  When I asked her if she wanted to watch Frosty the Snowman, she refused, saying that Frosty didn’t look right because he had a button nose.

After that, we stopped by to visit with our new neighbors.  We used to have a family with a three-year old son living two houses down from us.  It was quite nice that whenever the Cutlet got bored (or annoying), we could just walk two doors down for a playdate.  But sadly, they moved away in October.

We were pleasantly surprised to discover that the new neighbors have a three year old daughter!  Even better, she and the Cutlet seemed to hit it off immediately.  Hooray for instant and convenient friends!

I’m not so sure about the father though.  He’s a Cowboys fan.  But hey, nobody’s perfect, right?

As for the snowman, I’d say that turned out pretty well.  What do you think?

Snowman

All he needs is a top hat!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Snowmen, Neighbors, and Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Wow, both of those are reboots from the one I grew up with in the 80s. The kid is currently on a tirade about the reboot of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, specifically that they now have irises in their eyes (yes, the kid is weird).

    Happy snow day!

  2. He may not be a Cowboys fan after that game last night!! I’m sure you can bring him over from the Dark Side. :)

  3. Katie says:

    I’m with the kid–the button nose just doesn’t look right.

  4. djmatticus says:

    That’s a nice looking snowman!
    I wish I lived someplace where it snowed. I know the traffic, road conditions, driveway shoveling and other inconveniences would get old after awhile… but there is something magical about playing in snow that probably makes up for everything else most of the time.

  5. Twindaddy says:

    I’ve never built a snow man. I’ve tried, but it never works out…so I resort to just throwing snowballs at people.

  6. It never occurred to me that Frosty was a snowman freak before. Funny thing, despite knowing the song well and seeing the special countless times, I would have probably assumed Frosty had the standard carrot nose….

  7. Great job on the snowman! The original Strawberry Shortcake was a favourite of mine as a child … I had all of the dolls … they all had scented hair! The new version isn’t quite cutting it for me! ;)

  8. stephrogers says:

    I loved the old Strawberry Shortcake! I grew up watching that in the 80s. The reboot bothers me. Probably because it’s so different. I even had the little dolls made from the series and I played with them endlessly *sigh* now I was to go and watch it.

    Cool snow man (see what I did there). It was 40 degrees Celsius here today. I was walking on the ashphalt at my kids’ school and the bottoms of my shoes were getting tacky from the heat melting them.

Got Something to Say?

