4th of July Memories: Part One

The week of 4th of July is usually one of my favorite weeks of the year.  The weather is typically nice, there’s usually a lot of stuff going on, and there’s the anticipation of the upcoming holiday.

This week, I’ve already got planned a sneak preview of Hancock tonight, and the annual Midtown Liberty Bar Crawl on Thursday.  Hancock looks pretty good, as I do enjoy my superhero movies.  Maybe, just maybe, he’ll throw a bus at someone and it will go down as an all-time classic.

Last year’s bar crawl was a bit of a drunken mess, as I ate leftover pizza off of someone’s table,  lost most of our group, and drunkenly stumbled around the city for awhile.  Lots of fun.

The actual 4th doesn’t look to busy so far.  We’ve got a BBQ at 6, but before that, the day seems free.  Perhaps I’ll hit the pool and try to even out my blotchy sunburn that I got while whitewater rafting this past weekend.

In the spirit of the holiday, all this week, I’ll present: 4th of July Memories.  Today, we’ll look back at July 4, 1986.

The Exton Cinema had a free showing of the movie The Karate Kid Part II, so my sister and her friends took me along.  Although I didn’t know it at the time, I think a little bit of my childhood died that day.  As everyone knows, the big move that Daniel-san uses in the first Karate Kid movie was the Crane.  After watching this movie, every child in America practiced doing the Crane, thinking that it was the ultimate karate move.  Little did we know that the move would never actually work in a fight.

In Part II, during the climactic fight, Daniel-San once again turns to the Crane to save the day.  I remember thinking “OK, its the Crane.  This is when things get good.”  But this time, it didn’t work.  Sure, Daniel-san used some other new move to win the day, but it was shocking that the ultimate karate move had failed him.  I, along with countless other children were undoubtedly scarred by the experience.

Actually, what I remember most was kids imitating Miyagi when he tweaked the evil karate instructors nose.  But somewhere inside, I’m sure I was touched.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

