Power Hour

In my last blog, I completely forgot to add the section “Mrs. Cutter Makes Observations About Baseball.”

As she was walking around the stadium, she saw a few people wearing Arizona Diamondbacks shirts, which had the abbreviated “D-Backs” on them.  She thought the D was an O, and that they said “O-Backs” thinking they were supporting Barack Obama.

And as always, the highlight of the game for her is when they drag the screens across the infield to smooth the dirt.  She delightedly shouts: “Ooh, look – The Zambonis!”  Perhaps for her next birthday, I will somehow get her to be an honorary field crew member.

To her credit, she has gotten better at realizing when I ask her a seemingly obscure trivia fact, the answer is usually being displayed directly in front of her on the JumboTron.

Anyway, with Mrs. Cutter out of town for the day on Saturday, I decided to host a round of Power Hour at my place.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with the game, you consume one shot of beer every minute for an hour.  I found this cool software online which converts selected iTunes tracks into one minute segments, and provides a quick Simpsons quote in between to mark when to do the shot.

Joining me on this endeavor were four others who had no real Saturday plans.  We’ll call them: Squinty, Sweaty, TooTall, and Under Extreme Gay Suspicion.

Since this is Power Hour, the cheaper the beer, the better.  Squinty and I purchased a case of Natural Light earlier in the day, and I had a few Coors Lights already in the fridge.  TooTall, thinking that Natty wasn’t good enough, brought a case of Miller Lite, which isn’t really that much of an upgrade.  He did however, also bring along a 40 of Mickeys.  I’m not sure who the lucky person that got to drink that was.

Once everyone had arrived, the CD was started, and with the track “America, F*** Yeah” the game had begun.  Sitting around doing nothing while waiting to drink can get slightly tedious, so we decided to play some Wii games, including Boom Blox.  I’m still not quite sure how to play the game we were playing, but I think I did fairly well.

The first 20 shots or so went pretty quickly.  It’s almost too soon to even feel the effects of the alcohol.  About this time UEGS decided he wanted food, which was good, because it reminded me that I had to cook some chicken that had been defrosting for the past day.  In between shots, I ran to set up the Foreman Grill and cook the chicken, while people helpfully shouted when I needed to do a shot.

The chicken hit the spot nicely.  But then I noticed that shots 20-40 seemed to really kind of drag on.  I think in future games, I will add the stipulation that the first person to guess the title and artist of the song can either skip the shot, or assign it to someone else.  I was disappointed that nobody could identify “Turtle Power” by Partners in Kryme.

The final 20 shots also went quickly.  It was kind of sad when Macarena played signifying the end of the game.  Around this time, another friend who felt he was too good for power hour arrived to drive us to a nearby BBQ.  The hosts couldn’t have been that pleased to see a bunch of drunk people arrive, but to our credit, we did bring six cans of Natty Light and a package of hot dogs.

Already somewhat drunk, we decided it was a good idea to play the card game Asshole for awhile.  I think I may have been annoying everyone at the BBQ during this time.  At some point, someone brought out several rounds of hamburgers and hot dogs.  It seemed like people kept making me eat more hot dogs, but I might have been demanding more, so I can’t say for sure what happened.

The people at the BBQ were playing Guitar Hero, and I seem to recall them not being very good at it.  I think I may have verbally expressed this sentiment, and I ended up playing.  Even in my inebriated state, I can still rock GH at Easy.

We returned to my place and pretty much kept at it.  Sweaty and I decided to play the drinking game Drunkball for a little while.  I am happy to say that I beat him handily.  Squinty was busy trying to beat Punch-Out, but couldn’t get past Soda Popinski.  I tried to do the same, but I couldn’t do it either.  Punch-Out is harder on the Wii than it was for the NES because there is a slight delay in the reaction time. 

Those were the last clear memories until I awoke in my spare bedroom hearing UEGS stumbling around in the hallway.  I asked him what time it was and he said “3:30”.  I had to get clarification if that was AM or PM.  Looks like I had slept right through the party I had intended to go to.  I then stumbled around closing up for the night, brushed my teeth, and tried to go to sleep in my own bed.  Unfortunately, I was feeling slightly hung over, and it took some time. 

Overall, while it might not have been the healthiest activity, power hour was a good deal of fun, and I’ll probably have to do it again.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Power Hour

  1. Sqinty says:

    Nothing about the trip to the up scale comic shop?

  2. treachx says:

    Way to misspell your own name. The comic shop really wasn’t that memorable. It was certainly no Action Figure Super Store.

  3. Ryan says:

    Believe it or not I have never done a powerhour…is it something you recommend everyone do at some point in their life?

  4. treachx says:

    I don’t know if everyone should do it, but if you want to do it, now’s the time before kids and other responsibility gets in the way.

  5. Sweaty says:

    I totally forgot about playing drunk ball. You did beat me handily. And you forgot about that sweet pulled pork that they had at the party too. Them’s some good viddles.

Got Something to Say?

