Happy Thanksgiving

I hope everyone has had a good Thanksgiving.  My extended holiday has been pretty solid.  Wednesday we took a bus up to Atlantic City.  And while I lost at Blackjack as usual, at least this time I didn’t get wiped out immediately, and got to play for a little while.  Sadly, I consider that to almost be like winning.  On the bus ride back, they showed the movie “The Mask.”  Not as funny as I remember it being, but decent entertainment for a bus ride.

Thanksgiving morning, I joined some guys in playing football.  At first it was pretty cold and the ground had frost on it.  As the temperature warmed, the melted frost caused the ground to get wet, so we were slipping around a lot.  I must have fallen several times.  I did learn that by being younger and in better shape than most of the others playing, it allowed me to do well at the end of the game, as I still had energy when everyone else was tired out.  It helped sparked my team’s impressive comeback victory.

I came home, iced down my groin, had my traditional Thanksgiving Day bowl of soup, and then took my traditional Thanksgiving Day bath.  While bathing, I was watching the Lions get crushed by the Titans.  After the bath, I figured that since this game sucked, I would instead watch the classic football movie Necessary Roughness.  I think I made the better choice.

Mrs. Cutter and I headed over to my sister’s house for dinner.  The meal was excellent, highlighted by Mrs. Cutter’s delicious lasagna.  Of course, we have so much left over that we’ll be eating this for days.  Since it was Thanksgiving, obviously we overate, but I may have set a new personal record this year.  I don’t ever recall feeling so full and bloated.

And then came the Eagles game.  Recent Eagles games have been quite the debacle between tying the Bengals, and the benching of Donovan McNabb.  Considering the Eagles recent troubles in prime time games, I didn’t have high hopes for this one. 

And yet, they managed to surprise me.  They actually ran the ball, and unlike recent weeks, Donovan McNabb looked good.  Hopefully Andy Reid realizes that there might be a correllation between those two things.  They pretty much cruised their way to an easy victory.  Of course, I have no doubt that they’ll get back to sucking next Sunday when they play the Giants.  But for one night, it was great.

Overall, it was a fine day.  Maybe not the Best Thanksgiving Ever.  But still, a very solid day.

And now I’m off to play football again.  This time, down on the National Mall.  Hopefully I can manage to play two straight days of football without injuring myself.  Keep your fingers crossed.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

