New Orleans – Part Two

After the horrible sleep from the night before, I was going to force Mongoose and Bird to share a bed on Friday night. However, when a drunken Mongoose entered the room, he tried to resume his spot from the night before. I wasn’t having it. I kicked him out with such force that he got wedged between the bed and the wall and actually passed out there for a brief time before freeing himself and getting in the other bed. I slept much better that night.

Since Friday night was such a late night, we were slow to get moving on Saturday. I eventually got up and had Subway for lunch, and then we all headed to the pool area. Trying not to gain too much weight, I once again worked out in the gym for a bit before hitting the pool. Sadly, nobody wanted to play Marco Polo with me. I entertained myself by randomly trying to dunk people. They didn’t find this as amusing as I did.

For dinner that night, we would be going to the Acme Oyster House. We had a private upstairs room, which was a good thing since the main restaurant had a huge line of people waiting to get in. There was a buffet of shrimp, oysters, and other food, and an open bar. If you give me a buffet and open bar, I pretty much go to town, and this was no exception. Of course, I may have slowly lost track of how much alcohol I was consuming.

Since it’s New Orleans in May, there were a ton of bachelor and bachelorette parties in town. We spotted a good looking bachelorette party on the street, and some members of our party were actually able to get them to come up. They were trying to complete one of those bachelorette party checklists, and I believe I was asked for my underwear at one point, but I flat out refused. I vaguely remember talking to some of the women, but I don’t think I was making much sense.

Once we finished up there, we wandered around various Bourbon Street establishments for awhile. I can’t give precise details of exactly what happened, mostly because I can’t remember everything. I just know thinking that there were a lot of people out, it was really kind of bright, and everyone was being especially loud.

I now realize that the human body has an inebriation saturation point, and I definitely reached that point. I was relatively OK for awhile, but then when I was sitting at Pat O’Brian’s, halfway through a Hurricane, I suddenly couldn’t keep my head up any longer. I was apparently passed out at the table for a few minutes. After reviving, I realized that I probably shouldn’t drink any more, and it would be a good idea to return to the hotel. I’m not sure why I thought walking back to the hotel by myself was a good idea, but that was the course of action that I took. It probably would have been easier to get dragged around by the rest of the group.

I soon realized that Bourbon Street can seem VERY long when you’re staggering along through a large crowd. At some point, I decided I needed to take a break so I sat down on the sidewalk. I was a bit frightened by everything happening around me. I had gotten a text message asking where I was, and my answer was “I don’t know, but there are so many people here, and I’m scared.” I became very angry with Mrs. Cutter since I kept trying to call her and she wouldn’t answer.

Somehow, I eventually made it back to the hotel and passed out. Fortunately, Bird and Mongoose were loud when they returned which caused me to awake and drink water. This was key so that I didn’t feel like crap the next day for my flight home.

And that pretty much ended my New Orleans experience. Bourbon Street and the French Quarter haven’t changed much in the past five years, and I get the impression that they don’t ever really change. At least I’ll know what to expect when I eventually return.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Orleans – Part Two

  1. melaina25 says:

    Did you go to the place that’s gimmick is they let you “wash girls?” I don’t understand why that’s appealing since it implies the strippers are dirtier than normal…

Got Something to Say?

