4th of July Weekend: Part Three – Hot Dogs and Nationals

After two days of heavy drinking, we decided to take it a bit easy on the actual 4th.  I figured I better do something positive for my health and actually went to the gym.  I like going to Ballys on holidays and the weekends, as it’s a lot less crowded, and you don’t have to listen to the awful music from the dance classes.

One of my favorite 4th of July traditions is to watch the Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Contest.  Mrs. Cutter and I argued over whether competitive eating is a sport.  She says that it is not, but I argue that it’s a race, and does take physical skill, so it should be considered a sport.

In recent years, the contest has been fueled by the great rivalry between the Japanese Takeru Kobayashi and the American Joey Chestnut.  In the early part of the decade, Kobayashi burst onto the scene and blew away records in winning six straight contests.  But then, Chestnut emerged as a legit rival, and in 2007 finally won the title.  In 2008, the two eaters tied in regulation, and Chestnut successfully defended the title by winning a five hot dog eat-off.

I was rooting for Chestnut (Although there was an eater from Downingtown, PA which is near where I grew up, sadly he wasn’t a real contender), as I like seeing the title on the waist of an American.  So I made myself two hot dogs for lunch and watched the action unfold.  While the commentators thought that some others in the field might threaten, the two big rivals again surged to the lead.  Ultimately Chestnut pulled away for the threepeat.  USA!  USA!  One thing I can do without is the “Chew Cam” where they show a close up of a competitor’s mouth.  It is not a pretty sight.

That night, we went over to Mr. and Mrs. Too Tall’s for some dinner.  I once again ate way too much (a recurring theme for the weekend) and you can tell that the group is getting old when instead of going out to watch the fireworks, we instead stayed in and watched them on TV.  Although really, in HD, who can tell the difference?

On Sunday, we figured the perfect way to end the weekend was by seeing the Washington Nationals take on the Atlanta Braves.  The overcast weather was nice since it kept things cool and sometimes those July afternoon games can be deadly to sit through.  Even though it wasn’t too hot, Mrs. Cutter and I still had our customary helmet sundaes.  And hey, the Nats even played well and won thanks to a strong pitching performance by Scott Olsen.  It’s kind of sad that I’m legitimately surprised when the Nats win.

So an excellent Independence Day weekend was had by all.  Or at least everyone who was with me.  At least I think so.  Oh well, I know I had fun.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4th of July Weekend: Part Three – Hot Dogs and Nationals

  1. Squinty says:

    No mention of the 4 Horsemen of the Esophagus?

Got Something to Say?

