Getting older

It’s odd.  Turning 30 didn’t really bother me.  Maybe it was because I had just gotten married earlier that year, and it seemed like a much less momentous occassion.  But for some reason, as I approach my 32nd birthday, I’m getting a little bothered by the fact that two whole years have passed since my 30th birthday, and it doesn’t even seem like it’s been that long.

A few things that have contributed to this feeling:

– Realizing that all the songs I liked in college are now at least ten years old.

– When reading the Mini Page supplement in the Sunday newspaper (it’s a supplement designed for kids, and its stuck in the middle of the comics, so I read it) and they have to explain things like what the Soviet Union was, since today’s kids weren’t alive for it.

– When talking to college kids and I make a Beavis and Butthead reference, and they don’t really understand it.

– Seeing ads that Who Wants to be a Millionaire is returning…for its’ 10th anniversary

– I don’t even look like that young anymore.  It was kinda nice always looking like a punk kid.

On the other hand, through two years at least, my 30s have been going much better than my 20s were.  So I can hope that things only continue in that direction.  And hey, it won’t be too much longer before I’m ready for a midlife crisis!  Although it seems like I’m just getting over my quarterlife crisis.

But the weekend itself should be fun.  We’re having Verizon FiOS installed today, and that should make our home life that much better.  Or at least it will make our internet service more reliably hopefully.  But we had to furiously clear off our DVR the past few days since we’ll have to return it to Comcast.  And I’m certainly looking forward to making the call to Comcast to cancel service.

So I got that going for me.  Which is nice.  Here’s to another year of living!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

