Groundhog Day

Groundhog Day is here!  Groundhog Day always makes me realize that it’s been cold out for a few months, and it will probably continue to be cold for another couple of months.  I don’t care what that rodent says, it’s going to be winter for awhile longer. 

Speaking of winter, my theory that “If there’s a big snow in December, the weather is usually rather mild once the new year hits” has been disproven.  We’ve had a lot of snow so far this winter, and more is expected.  I just ask that it stops snowing on the weekend!  Snow on Friday night only serves to mess up any weekend plans you might have had.  By the time Monday rolls around, the roads are fine, and the snow is just sitting on the side of the road and in parking spots getting in everyone’s way.

Do you think that video rental stores (or at least the ones that are left) have a big run on the movie Groundhog Day on February 2nd?  I’d have to guess that it’s one of the most streamed movies for the day.  Speaking of the movie: Here’s a site that analyzes how many times Phil Connors repeats the same day:

http://www.wolfgnards.com/index.php/2009/06/16/how-long-does-billy-murray-spend-in-grou

What would be interesting to me would be to see how the next day went.  I would think that Phil would have a very tough time readjusting to real life where he didn’t know exactly how the day was going to go.  I’d say it would drive him insane, but if he was able to repeat the same day for close to nine years, then he probably has the mental toughness to survive.  Still, it’s got to be tough going from a near godlike state to ordinary life.

But who has time to watch movies?  The season premiere of Lost is on tonight!  Oddly, as much as I like the show, I haven’t been counting down the days.  First, it’s been almost a year since the last season, so it’s kind of been out of my mind.  And while it’s nice to have the show back, it’s also kind of sad knowing that this will be the last season.  Hopefully, the final season lives up to expectations.

As for what to expect in tonight’s episode, I’m guessing they answer a couple of lingering questions from last season, while opening up a few new questions.  I know to expect this because that’s pretty much how the past four season premieres have gone.

One thing I didn’t watch was the Grammys.  Since I didn’t see the show, I can’t really comment much on it, but it seems like this is the year of weird looking women hitting it big in music, since Lady Gaga and Taylor Swift are now huge stars.  The guy might be a bit of an ass, but really, Kanye had a point.

And now the Cutter briefly discusses a social issue:

– People have criticized cruise ships for bringing their customers to Haiti.  I’m not sure why they’re upset. It’s not like the cruise lines are just going to shut down because there was a tragedy.   The cruise ships are going to take their customers to a beach somewhere.  Sure, it may seem wrong to be partying right next to all the suffering people, but the cruise ships also bring commerce to the island, and when they stop, they’ve been dropping off supplies and aid.  It would be a much worse thing for the ships to not stop there anymore.

On Friday, Mrs. Cutter and I went to the DC Improv to see Bobby Lee.  We knew Bobby Lee from MAD TV, and always found him to be funny, so we decided to go.  Bobby was pretty good, but the first warmup comedian might have been even better.  His name is Erik Myers.  He’s really thin and has a bit of a high pitched voice, which of course makes him funny to begin with.  But Mrs. Cutter and I were laughing hard throughout his entire performance.

Here’s a brief clip:

Well this is good – The past two days, it has smelled like natural gas in the hallway of my office.  We had the gas company out yesterday to check it out and they said that there was no gas leak.  Someone figured it must have been the water heater which was the problem.  When the repairmen came out to look at the water heater, they said that it was definitely a gas leak that needed to be taken care of immediately.  Reminds me that I need to look into getting more life insurance ASAP.

And finally, the Super Bowl is on Sunday.  I actually correctly predicted the winner of both conference championship games!  I’ll try to do an extensive preview on Friday and maybe even discuss the greatest Super Bowl commercials of all time: The Bud Bowl!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Groundhog Day

  1. Mrs. Cutter says:

    So you’re saying that I was right? I kept telling you it was going to be a bad winter.

  2. Squinty says:

    I think it’d have been funny if you’d posted the same blog yesterday.

Got Something to Say?

