Finality

Today is Thursday, which means I have a kickball game tonight.  Only tonight’s game feels a little different, as it will most likely be the last time I play in DC on a weeknight. 

Perhaps next year I will be able to play on the weekends, or maybe in a more local league.  But as far as getting down to the National Mall?  Can’t see it happening.  Getting down to the Mall (and back again) is already a pain in the ass thanks to constant Metro delays and the horrific traffic.  Will I have any patience for it when I have to deal with an infant at home?  Probably not.

So this is the last Thursday that I’ll spend carefully crafting my kickball team’s lineup.  Yes, I make lineups for my team every week.  And I spend a decent amount of time doing so.  Why?  Because I can’t to stand to lose simply due to poor planning and organization.  I’ll tolerate being outplayed, but if we lose because people weren’t positioned properly?  It drives me nuts.

And while I know that people on my team will inevitably disappoint me by no-showing, arriving late, or simply dropping the ball (both figuratively and literally) I will miss doing it.

With the upcoming arrival of the Cutlet, a lot of things are going to be changing for me.  Actually, a lot of the changes have already begun.  Impending fatherhood has seemed to reduce my procrastination habit greatly.  I’ve been getting things done in a more timely manner instead of pushing them off to whenever.  And for whatever reason, I also seem to be making a more concerted effort to keep our condo neater.  As Mrs. Cutter could no doubt tell you, this is not very typical of me. 

By the way, for those of you who don’t like reading about babies and baby related things, you probably won’t want to read this blog for too much longer.  While I don’t want to become one of those people who only talks about their child, there’s a good chance that 90% of my mental energy is going to be dedicated towards the baby.  So what else am I going to blog about?

And if this is goodbye, then at least we’ve had a good two year run, no?

For those of you who stick around, I have some good news:  In honor of the upcoming two year blogaversary, I’m going to be redesigning the appearance of the site.  It feels like the bland, generic look has outlived its usefulness, so at the very least I’m going to change the layout and colors.  To top it off, I’m even going to try my hand at making a custom banner image!  Exciting!

So stay tuned for the new and hopefully improved The Cutter Rambles!  It should be the greatest thing ever!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finality

  1. Pingback: Retirements | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

