Valentines Day

Another Valentines Day has passed us by.  After ten years as a couple, and three years of marriage, has Valentines Day lost some of its luster in the Cutter household?

I suppose it has, but it was never really that big a deal for us in the first place.  I think we both understand that you shouldn’t get too excited about a holiday that was pretty much invented by Hallmark.

Not to mention that back in 2007, we finally realized that by going out to dinner on Valentines Day, we were ending up in overcrowded restaurants where they jacked up the prices for that one night.  What was the point?

The last couple years, we’ve celebrated on the 15th instead, and had a much better time.  Restaurant prices are back to normal, and they’re usually pretty empty.

This year, since going out to dinner isn’t an easy thing for us anymore, we stayed in.  I cooked a nice meal for Mrs. Cutter, and we exchanged small gifts. 

Coincidentally, we both got each other Eagles themed gifts.  She got me an Eagles colored replica of Cleatus the Fox Sports robot.  This is a truly awesome gift, even though she’s going to make me bring it in to work and not put it on display at home.

I’ll be sure to bring it home for next football season as I’ll want it on hand when I watch the games.

I gave her a David Akers jersey.  It was originally supposed to be a Christmas gift, but I bought it online from China, and I think it got stuck in customs and didn’t arrive until January.  Stupid China!

The jersey may turn out to be a bad gift.  Akers is a free agent, and although it looks like the team wants to bring him, back, it isn’t a certainty.  It would be depressing if the jersey is out of date before she even wears it once.

Also, the jersey is a bit big on her, and she rejected my offer to alter it using my sewing kit at home.  She apparently doesn’t have confidence in my sewing abilities!  Even though I used to rock at Home Economics back in middle school!  I suppose she’ll just have to tuck the jersey in.

 

Random Thought of the Week

Is it wrong that I miss the elementary school days of giving out paper valentine cards to classmates? 

It was always so much fun picking out which valentines to buy.  I think my all-time favorites might have been the Pizza Hut cards I got in 2nd grade. 

Yeah, Valentines Day rocked in elementary school.  We’d spend the day making paper mailboxes to put valentines in and then go around giving out cards.  Of course, we were supposed to give cards to everyone in the class, including the smelly kids.

In recent years, I’ve decided to keep this tradition along and pass out valentine cards to either kickball teammates or co-workers.

I think they all appreciated them.  After all, who wouldn’t like receiving a card with Spider-Man wish them a “swinging Valentines Day?”

 

Random Picture Found on the Web

Seems like a good deal to me!

One Hit Wonder of the Week

This week’s One Hit Wonder is Come On Eileen by Dexy’s Midnight Runners.

This song reminds me of a dark time in my life when at a homecoming dance in high school, I asked a girl to dance to the song, and was rejected.  I seem to remember that it was also on the radio quite a bit on Saturday nights when my friends and I drove around egging houses.

I’m not sure why the band didn’t have any further success.  Was it due to heartbreak over losing the Grammy to the B Sharps?  Possibly.

 

Top Five of the Week

I’ll go over my Top Five Favorite Days of the Elementary School Year

5. First Day of School – This may seem like an odd choice, but it was always nice to see people again after a few months away.

4. Parent-Teacher Conference days – Why?  Because we got half days.  There was something magical about going to school knowing you were going to leave halfway through.

3. Valentines Day – In addition to exchanging valentines, there was also lots of candy!

2. The last day of school before Christmas – We’d usually watch a movie or play games and sometimes exchange gifts.  Teachers generally didn’t even try to get anything done on this day.

1. Halloween – Candy and costumes!  What could be better to a pre-teen?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Weekcap and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Valentines Day

  1. BGLT says:

    With the transition tag, Akers isn’t going anywhere. Laura will get to proudly sport her new jersey. 🙂

  2. Melaina25 says:

    According to Colin Dexy actually had other hits, but I don’t believe him.

Got Something to Say?

