Fun with Childproofing

The Cutlet is getting closer and closer to becoming mobile.  She hasn’t crawled yet, but she can now push herself backwards, and is trying very hard to figure out how to move forward.  It’s only a matter of time before she gets it.

Once she starts moving, she will inevitably try to grab anything she can get her hands on. (and 95% of the time put it in her mouth)  Well, she already does this, but when she’s mobile, that means that she’ll be able to get her hands on a whole lot more.

This means that we’ve had to begin the process of childproofing our home. 

When growing up, people of my generation didn’t seem to need the all-encompassing childproofing that is common today.  I seem to recall plugs in electrical outlets and maybe some cabinet locks, but that was about it.  I guess our parents had more of a Darwinian outlook on child safety.

Nowadays, since just about everything is a potential hazard to children, (and no parent wants their child to be a statistic) everything in the home that is within her reach must be accounted for.

I’m sure at some point I will remember that I have to disengage the child lock when trying to open the cabinets.  You’d think I would have gotten the hang of it by now, but just about every time I pull on the door, it gets caught, and I have to make a special point of disengaging the lock.

But the most annoying childproofing measure is the toilet lock.

Basically, we’ve attached a bar to the toilet seat lid that prevents the lid from being opened unless a button is pushed.  I am sure that the Cutlet won’t be able to open it, because it’s a huge pain for me to do so.  If I am ever faced with a real emergency bathroom situation, I think I’m going to have to just go in the bathtub.

This lock also creates a problem for those of us who urinate while standing up.  The way that the lock is attached to the toilet seat means that the seat will not stay up on its own.  So you now have to lean over and hold the seat in place while doing your business.

And yet, despite all our work, I’m sure that the Cutlet will soon be moving around and showing us all of the things we missed.

Random Thought of the Week

Sunday night was the biggest night of the year in the world of professional wrestling, as the WWE put on Wrestlemania 27. 

I was slightly disappointed in it.  It wasn’t a bad show, but I had very high hopes for it coming in, and it didn’t quite meet my expectations.

At least the show ended on a strong note as The Miz (my favorite current wrestler) retained his WWE Title against John Cena thanks to the help of the Rock. (Perhaps my all-time favorite)

One-hit Wonder of the Week

This week’s one-hit wonder is Willa Ford who in 2000 gave us “I Wanna Be Bad”



This song came out in the heyday of the “girl band” singers like Britney Spears and Jessica Simpson.  But unlike her more famous peers, Ford was never able to come up with a follow-up hit.

She tried her hand at acting, and had some minor roles in movies. (She played Anna Nicole Smith in the “Anna Nicole Smith Story”!)  Somehow, she was able to parlay her modest fame into a spot on Dancing with the Stars.

Random Picture Found on the Web

This is a racoon walking on it’s hind legs.  Isn’t it cute?

Top Five of the Week

I will name my Top Five Favorite Wrestlemania Matches of all time.  These aren’t necessarily the best matches, just those that I enjoyed watching the most.

5. Kurt Angle vs. Shawn Michaels (WM 21) – Just a really good match between two of the best wrestlers in the world.

4. Edge vs. Mick Foley (WM 22) – This was a hardcore match that saw Edge and Foley go through a flaming table.  Terrifically brutal.

3. Stone Cold Steve Austin vs. The Rock (WM 19) – For most people, this match, the third Mania match between them is their least favorite.  I like it the best, mainly because the Rock had been playing such a good bad guy at the time and finally won at Mania.

2. Edge and Christian vs. The Hardy Boyz vs. The Dudley Boyz (WM 16) – This was a ladder match where these teams performed moves people had never seen before.

1. Hulk Hogan vs. The Rock (WM 18) – The icon of yesterday facing off against the icon of present day.  It was amazing to watch, especially considering how the crowd reacted.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in The Cutlet, Weekcap and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

