The Diet vs. The Original Pancake House

For the past three weeks, I’ve been trying to stick to a diet.

I know, you’re probably thinking: “But Cutter, you’re already so thin and healthy looking!  What do you need to diet for?”

Well, thank you for that.  You’re too kind.

While I wasn’t necessarily getting fat, I felt I was getting a bit doughy.  So I decided to be proactive and reverse course before I got too far down the road to Fattyville.

First, I’ve made a point to get in some sort of exercise at least four out of the seven days of the week.  If I don’t have time to make it to the gym, I’ll at least try to use the EA Active game on the Wii, or go for a jog outside.

The second, more difficult part of the plan has been sticking to a diet.

Before our wedding, Mrs. Cutter and I used Weight Watchers’ points system to lose weight.  It was extremely effective for me, as I lost about 20 pounds.  And I’ve used it in a few subsequent diets as well.  So I know it will work as long as I have the willpower to see it through.

Ah, but I didn’t realize just how much my willpower would be tested.

The first week was relatively easy.   But then week two happened to coincide with Thanksgiving.  I don’t care how much weight I want to lose; I’m not going to cut back on Thanksgiving.

Back in my high school wrestling days, we needed to maintain a certain weight, and I had to always be conscious of just how much I was eating.  But despite those concerns, I remember my coach telling us to enjoy ourselves on Thanksgiving.  We could worry about our weight once the holiday was over.

I took that advice to heart, and if the 112 pound version of me could enjoy myself on Thanksgiving, so could the larger modern day version.

Unfortunately, the Thanksgiving meal – combined with the inevitable leftovers – made for a week where my progress was reversed a bit.

This would be the moment of truth.  It would have been easy to just say “Well, Thanksgiving messed up my plans.  I might as well just give up.”  And I certainly was tempted to go back to my merry M&M eating ways.

But showing a somewhat rare display of self-control, I decided to pick the diet back up the following week.

Sometimes it seems that life purposely throws obstacles in a path of a dieter.  We were out on Sunday evening, and it became apparent that we’d have to stop so that the Cutlet could eat.  It was past her usual dinner time, and she wasn’t going to tolerate waiting until we got home.

Without too many good options available, our choice of restaurant was Burger King.

Once again, it would have been easy to just hit the “F*** it” button and order a double cheeseburger and fries.  But once again, I exercised some restraint and actually ordered a salad.  And to be honest, the Tendergrill salad is pretty good and not too disastrous in terms of calories.

But am I out of the woods?  Oh no, not by a longshot.

December is not a good month to be on a diet.  It feels like there are big events planned every week.  Holiday parties!  Cookie exchanges!  Food everywhere!

Today at work, it was my department’s bi-monthly lunch outing.  Our restaurant of choice: The Original Pancake House.

I’m not one to pass up a free lunch, and I’m certainly not going to pass it up when the meal is at one of my favorite restaurants.  I love me some breakfast foods, and they do quite a fine job of preparing them at the OPH.

If I was only allowed to go to one restaurant for the rest of my life…well, it might not be the OPH.  But it would certainly be kept under consideration.

Yum!

Yum!

Since I wasn’t going to miss out on the OPH, I had a decision to make: Should I try to be “good” and find something small and low-calorie from the menu?  Or should I just go nuts and eat what I wanted?

This turned out to be an easy decision.  I don’t think the OPH does small and low-calorie.  And besides, if I wasn’t going to eat pancakes, there didn’t seem to be much point in even going.

So I went with the chocolate chip pancakes.  And they were good.

The meal used up more than half of my daily Weight Watchers point allotment for the day.  I thought that this might be a problem, but as the day continues, I realize it might not be much of an issue at all.

As part of my continuous attempts to keep my weight under control, I typically space my meals out throughout the day.  Rather than eating a large breakfast followed by a large lunch, I try to split the meals into portions which I then eat throughout the day.

While this has improved my metabolism, it also means that I’m almost constantly eating.  If I go an hour without food, my body starts wondering why I am not putting any rice cakes into it.

Dropping a huge meal onto my stomach in the middle of the day has thrown my metabolism for a bit of a loop.  My body is giving me a “What the hell am I supposed to do with this?” look right about now.

So I probably won’t need to eat anything else until dinner.  And even that will probably be lighter than usual.  So it looks like I’m going to get through the day relatively unscathed.

Who would have thought that the Original Pancake House and a diet could peacefully coexist?  It fills me with hope that maybe everyone can get along, and we may one day see peace on Earth!

But until then, I think I’m going to go pass out in a food coma.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

