Stuff that isn’t Funny

I thought I’d take this opportunity to take off my Eagles (who are somehow still not eliminated from the playoffs!) Santa hat and put on my hater hat.

I’m going to talk about things that American society has for some reason decided are funny, even though they most certainly are not.

Louie

Louis C.K. is a funny man.  His standup is often hilarious.  This particualr clip hits home in so many ways:

I had heard good things about his show Louie.  Since a funny comedian had a TV show that was critically acclaimed, I figured that it would be worth my while to check it out.

I watched a few episodes, and found myself very confused by it all.  Why was this supposed to be funny?

I shouldn’t watch a show dubbed as a comedy, starring one of the funniest comedians around, and afterwards realize that I laughed maybe one time.  And I’m not even sure that the part I laughed at was intentional comedy!

I don’t care how many people want to rave about how he’s taking comedy in new directions.  Here’s a direction that he should try: Being funny.

I’ll admit that I liked the episode with Dane Cook.  And yet, I feel like they even dropped the ball with that episode.  This episode had the potential to be one of the funniest TV episodes ever, and yet it came off as merely clever.

The Royal Tenenbaums

Really, I could have chosen any of director Wes Anderson’s “comedies.” 

Am I the only person in America who doesn’t get the appeal of Wes Anderson’s movies?  You know how I don’t want to feel when watching a comedy?  Bored. 

Anderson’s movies are extremely boring.  Except for the ones featuring Jason Schwartzman.  I’m not bored when I watch movies with him in them.  Instead, I’m full of rage and an overwhelming desire to punch him in the face.

Yeah, if you hadn’t guessed, I’m not a big fan of Jason Schwartzman.

So why do so many people rave about how great Anderson’s movies are?  I’m sick of hearing about how Anderson is such a skilled filmmaker. 

Maybe if the movies were billed as dramas, I would at least know what to expect.  Yet people insist on labeling The Royal Tenenbaums as a comedy.

What was funny about the Royal Tenenbaums?  What?  I can’t think of one funny scene in the movie.

I feel it’s kind of like the hype surrounding the Osbournes a few years ago.  I don’t think anyone really found it all that funny or even “got” the show.  But because the media hailed it as the greatest thing ever, everyone just kind of agreed with them.

“Oh look, Ozzy is mumbling!  His kids are screwups!  That’s freaking hilarious, right?”

No.  No it isn’t.

Gilbert Gottfried

While his show might suck, at least Louis C.K. is a funny comedian.  I can’t say the same for Gilbert Gottfried.

So let me get this straight: Having a guy shout jokes in an extremely shrill voice somehow makes them funnier?

Can we make some sort of deal with him?  Just stick to doing to voice of the Aflac duck, and leave us alone the rest of the time.

The Aristocrats

Squinty lent us this DVD a few years ago.  He thought we’d like it.  He was wrong.

For those unfamiliar with the movie, it’s a documentary about a famous joke that comedians like to tell.  I wish I could explain it better, but I don’t think I ever really understood what the hell was going on.

Maybe we went in with the wrong expectations.  But when a DVD features just about every one of the country’s top comedians, you might expect to get a few chuckles out of the deal.  We didn’t.

I believe the question we raised was “What the hell is this crap?”

Whitney

Ah yes, I promised to talk about Whitney, and at long last, I’m going to do it.

Similar to Louis C.K., I think Whitney is a talented comedienne.  But her show…well, this needs some work.

Honestly, it’s not as bad as some people might make it out to be.  It just seems like it would have been more fitting in the 80’s or 90’s.  In this day and age, do we really need a laugh track?

As Grantland.com’s Friday Morning QB once pointed out, (I’d try to find a direct link, but I’m feeling too lazy.  Just trust me, it happened) part of the problem is that is just doesn’t fit in well with the rest of the NBC Thursday night comedies.

The rest of those shows are hip and snarky.  They feature scenes that make for good clips on the YouTube or Hulu that can then be shared on the Facebook.  Whitney is just a traditional sitcom featuring generic stereotype characters getting into supposedly funny situations.

I can’t imagine anyone ever sharing a clip from Whitney on Facebook.

It also doesn’t help that Whitney comes on at the end of the comedy block.  After watching two hours of TV, it would be nice to come away with a nice, happy feeling.  Instead, Whitney gives us a bad aftertaste that makes us realize “Wow, we just kind of wasted two hours.”

Thankfully, they’ve moved Whitney to another night, where we won’t feel obligated to watch just to “complete the Thursday night set.”  Instead, Up All Night – a show which Mrs. Cutter and I often relate to – will be moved into its place.

So maybe we will be able to go to bed feeling good about ourselves after all!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuff that isn’t Funny

  1. alyssa says:

    Gilbert Gottfried isn’t even that Aflack duck voice anymore. He got fired for being a moron. He should probably just fade to obscurity now. He freaked me the hell out in Problem Child as a kid too. Decidedly not funny.

Got Something to Say?

