Happy Solstice!

Today is my mother’s favorite day of the year!  Why?  Because 12:30 AM tonight marks the winter solstice, and that means that today is the shortest day of the year.

You may be wondering why my mother is a fan of the shortest day of the year.  The reason is simple: From here on out, every day is going to get progressively longer. 

At least until that horrible day in late June when the days start getting shorter again.  Oh how we hate that dreadful day!

But we’ve got six months before we have to worry about that.  For now, let’s enjoy the very gradual lengthening process!

I suggest that tonight, everyone sit outside and watch the sunset.  Feel free to make snide comments like “You’ll be back for longer tomorrow!”

Because nothing makes a person feel better about themselves than taunting the sun.

For those of you who may be curious just what a solstice is, here is Wikipedia’s definition:

Solstice

For those of you who aren’t big into clicking links, the solstice is basically when the Earth’s northern hemisphere is tilted furthest away from the sun.

To get you in the mood for some extended daylight, here is Coldplay’s song Daylight!

And since there’s not much else to say about the solstice, I’ll provide you with a few links:

Adult Swim does Chanukkah

Creepy real life cartoon characters

That’s what she said!

Girl getting hit in face by volleyball

That last link reminds me of when my friend and I thought it was a good idea to play kickball in my basement.  Keep in mind, we had a finished basement complete with a drop ceiling that was probably only seven feet high.

We proceeded to knock out a bunch of ceiling tiles, break a lamp, and I think my friend hurt himself trying to run after the ball.  My father was not pleased when he discovered the carnage.

The moral of this story: Kids do really stupid things sometimes.

Until tomorrow, enjoy the solstice!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

