A Very Waffle Crispy Valentine’s Day

As everyone is probably aware, yesterday was Valentine’s Day.

I’m sure this is somewhat of a big deal for newer couples.  For those of us who have been together for over eleven years, and are now married with a child, it is much less so.

But that didn’t mean that we’d totally let the holiday pass us by.

In the morning, my nose unexpectedly began to bleed.  I wasn’t sure what had triggered the nosebleed, but I quickly realized that I had a grand opportunity on my hands: I could create a homemade Valentine card to give to Mrs. Cutter.

As I dabbed at my nose with a tissue, I tried to get the blood to form a heart-shaped pattern.  Unfortunately, it was difficult to be precise, and it didn’t turn out so well.

It's the thought that counts

Later in the day when I showed it to Mrs. Cutter, she was not as touched by the gesture as I had hoped.

I decided to cook dinner for Mrs. Cutter and the Cutlet.  What would I be making?  My new specialty: chicken and waffles!

Much like Mr. Pibb and red vines, I have found that chicken and Waffle Crisp cereal together also equal crazy delicious. 

Yes, that’s right.  In addition to being the greatest breakfast cereal around, Waffle Crisp can now also be a delicious component of dinner!

For those curious, here are the cooking instructions:

  • Crumble two cups of Waffle Crisp cereal into a large bowl.  You can add seasonings if you so choose.
  • Add a cup of low fat ranch dressing into a different bowl.
  • Dip chicken breasts into the dressing and then roll them in the cereal bowl so that they are coated.
  • Place chicken in a baking pan and cook at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

We didn’t give each other gifts, aside from a small box of chocolates which we shared.  But Mrs. Cutter did get me a radical Twilight card!

We gave the Cutlet a couple of small presents: An Elmo book and a My Little Pony doll.  We have a collection of small My Little Pony books which she enjoys reading, (“Pony!  Pony!”) so we figured she’d enjoy the doll.

Sadly, when Mrs. Cutter went to buy the doll, they didn’t have any of the characters that we recognized from the book.  So instead of Sparkleworks or Pinkie Pie, we got Plumsweet.  The Cutlet didn’t seem to mind as she began combing the pony’s hair with the miniature brush that was included.  The doll also came with a DVD, but we have yet to watch that.

I hope everyone enjoyed their Valentine’s Day as much as we did.  And if not, you can always take solace in the fact that for the rest of the week, there should be some pretty good sales on candy.  After all, they’ve got to clear out all of the red and white Valentine-themed candy to make room for the pastel colored Easter candy.

So go nuts!  Eat some leftover candy hearts.  You deserve it.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Very Waffle Crispy Valentine’s Day

  1. Sweaty says:

    I will never forget the Waffle Crisp rap you made up to the tune of “Magic Stick” while pregaming for one of the Best Days EVER.

Got Something to Say?

