Five Years of the Cutters!

I am happy to announce that today Mrs. Cutter and I celebrated our five-year anniversary!

It’s difficult to believe that five whole years have passed since that glorious afternoon in 2007.

It had been such a nice day.  The weather was perfect, I got to go to the Action Figure Super Store, and traffic wasn’t even unbearably bad when trying to go back and forth on the Long Island Expressway.  The wedding itself was pretty keen too!

To celebrate the anniversary, last weekend Mrs. Cutter and I left the Cutlet with my parents and went out on the town. 

First, we travelled up to Savage, MD to visit Terrapin Adventures.  At Terrapin Adventures, we climbed several rock walls, navigated a ropes course, went on a giant swing, and rode a zip line.  It was a very enjoyable – although very tiring – experience.

That evening, we Metroed into Washington to stay at the Grand Hyatt, a hotel that has some significance for our relationship. 

We had dinner at Acadiana restaurant which features authentic New Orleans cuisine.  I’ve said before that New Orleans food might be unhealthy, but it certainly was good.  It was a tasty meal that left us both full, but satisfied.

We had a couple of post-meal drinks, but after being so full from dinner, neither one of us had much room in our stomachs for alcohol.  So we just walked around the city for a bit, and then called it a night.

Well, we didn’t go right to bed.  We watched the movie Couples Retreat first.  Sadly, it wasn’t much better the second time around.

The next morning, we didn’t have to wake up and attend to the needs of a toddler.  It was nice to just lounge around and relax for a while. 

Eventually we did find some motivation and headed downstairs to enjoy some brunch.

The brunch was going well enough at first.  We had some custom omelets, and other various high quality foods.  But then, we were almost faced with a  disaster.

When I went by the french toast station, I was distraught to find that they were all out.  I asked one of the servers, who said more would be coming.  After some time passed, I checked back, and there was still no french toast! 

This was simply unacceptable.  If there’s one thing I’m an expert at, it is how to eat at a buffet.  I have a certain way of working my way around the food stations, and the lack of french toast was seriously interrupting my flow.

I inquired again, and I think the waitress noticed my distress.  They probably don’t often see people getting so upset about the lack of french toast. The manager made a special point to tell me that some would be coming out soon, and that they were very sorry.

Finally, a waitress delivered me my own personal plate of french toast to our table.  That was nice.  And even better, the french toast was excellent!

Once brunch was done, we accepted that we’d have to return to reality.  We hopped back on the Metro, headed home, and were reunited with our daughter.

The Cutlet had a fun weekend of her own.  She got to go to the pool and played with her cousins.  Thankfully, she still seemed happy to see us when she came home.

As for our actual anniversary, we got to spend most of the day with the Cutlet, and for the second year in a row, enjoyed a nice meal at the American Tap Room in Bethesda.

So I’m sure the question on everyone’s minds is: After five years, is the magic still there?

I’m happy to say that it is.  In fact, now that we have a wonderful child, things are even better than ever.

So hooray for five years of marriage and here’s to forty-five more! 

Why forty-five more?  I’ve always felt that fifty was a good anniversary to aim for.  After that, it’s like playing with house money.

And now, I’m off to bed to get a good night’s sleep.  Because you know what they say: The first five years of marriage are easy.  It’s the sixth one that takes work. 

Or maybe not.  I guess I’ll let you know next year.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Years of the Cutters!

  1. Janet says:

    Devon and I had our first date at Acadiana 🙂

Got Something to Say?

