Fire, Water, Sponge

I have always been a fan of reading the comics in the Sunday newspaper.  It is one of the main reasons why Mrs. Cutter and I have a Sunday-only subscription to the Washington Post.

Recently, the Cutlet has come to enjoy us reading the comics to her.  She doesn’t usually understand what’s going on in most of the strips, but she enjoys the pictures, especially when the strip features animals such as Snoopy and Garfield.

One comic featured in the Post is Rhymes With Orange by Hilary Price.  Every day, this strip features a one-off joke, usually done in one panel.  Like most newspaper comics, the quality can be a little hit-or-miss, but on most weeks, it is worthy of at least a mild chuckle.

As I was reading last week’s comics section, the RWO strip really stood out to me:

RhymesWithOrange1

To see the original version, click here.

This really got me thinking.  Wouldn’t fire, water, and sponge actually be much better choices for this game than the usual rock, paper, and scissors?  Sure, we accept that rock smashes scissors, and scissors cuts paper.  But the whole “paper covering rock” thing?  That’s where it all falls apart.  I am pretty sure that if I covered a rock with a piece of paper, its effectiveness as a weapon will only be minimally diminished.

But fire, water, sponge?  Works perfectly.  Water extinguishes fire, sponge absorbs water, and fire burns sponge.  I am so excited about this, that from now on, I refuse to call the game rock, paper, scissors.  I will only refer to it as fire, water, sponge.

Then again, if the game is played in the world of Spongebob Squarepants, we might have to adopt different rules:

This should not be

This should not be

Since the title of this blog made me think of the song “Fire Water Burn” by the Bloodhound Gang, as a special bonus, I shall present you with a video from that song:

And now I’m left feeling sad because the song references the planet Pluto.  Of course, I’m still holding out hope that for Christmas/Chanukkah someone will get me what the gift I want most: To have Pluto re-instated as a planet!

Also, the “Suburbs” hat that the singer is wearing in the video is pretty cool.  If I didn’t already have a plethora of winter hats, I’d suggest that as a gift too.  Well, maybe next year.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

