Awesome Stuff: Joe Stephen

For those of you who only read the blog when I post updates to Facebook, here’s a reminder that last Thursday, I posted some Grooveshark queue trivia if you’d like to take a stab at it.

Today, I’d like to discuss one of my heroes: Joe Stephen

Most of you probably don’t know who Joe Stephen is.  I’ll admit that I don’t have any idea what he looks like.  Heck, I didn’t even know his name before I started writing this.  But he is one of my heroes nonetheless.

When times aren’t going that well at my job, I sometimes wonder what would happen if I were to be fired.  And while the carefree, fancy life of unemployment does sound tempting, I realize that I can’t get fired for two reasons:

1. We really need the money.

2. I want to make sure that if I ever get fired, it is for being as awesome as Joe Stephen.

Last year, when trying to determine the World’s Awesomest Song, one of the songs that just missed the cut was Whitesnake’s “Here I Go Again.”

Those of us who watched MTV in the 80s will surely remember the video for the song, as it supposedly pushed a whole generation of males into puberty:

I know, it doesn’t seem like anything special any more, but it was a big deal back then.

The model in the video is named Tawny Kitaen, who pretty much defines the term “80’s hot.”  She parlayed her fame into a few acting roles, and eventually married baseball pitcher Chuck Finley.

The happy couple

The happy couple

The two did not have a stable marriage.  According to her, they had a few violent fights, prompted in part by his supposed steroid use.

The final blow came in 2002, while Finley was driving her home from dinner.  During the drive, they got into a heated argument which resulted in Kitaen violently beating Finley with a stiletto heel, prompting him to file domestic abuse charges against her.

Yes, I can see how that might hurt a little.

Yes, I can see how that might hurt a little.

A divorce soon followed.

Later that year, Finley’s California Angels were at Comiskey Park to play the Chicago White Sox.  The music director at Comiskey Park?  Joe Stephen.  Stephen’s choice of songs to play when Finley took the field?  “Here I Go Again.”

Because some people apparently can’t recognize awesomeness, Stephen was fired and the White Sox apologized to Finley.

While I’m sure it must have sucked to lose his job, at least Stephen can feel secure in knowing that he went out in the greatest way possible, and he has my eternal respect.  If ever I need to hire a musical director, he is going to be among the top choices on my list.

And finally, in yet another example of why the internet is awesome, I was able to find Stephen’s website!  Apparently, he still works as a DJ and has landed some high-profile gigs.  Good for him!  May his awesomeness endure forevermore!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Awesome Stuff, Pop Culture and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awesome Stuff: Joe Stephen

  1. Squinty says:

    Joe Stephen looks a lot like Caesar Romero.

Got Something to Say?

