Home Again

Today’s post is going to be a bit abbreviated as I spent most of the day on the road. Here’s some news that should come as a shock to absolutely no one: Our drive home from Long Island sucked.

I know I seem to write one of these “the drive to/from Long Island sucks” posts every year. But in my defense, these drives usually REALLY suck.

You might think that by driving home the day after Christmas, we were inviting a tough drive. I fully agree, but due to my employer’s stinginess with vacation time, I didn’t have much choice.

Like many of our trips, we encountered both rain and traffic. Admittedly, it wasn’t our worst trip home ever. That came two years ago when due to a severe snowstorm, we were at an absolute standstill on the New Jersey Turnpike, and had to bail and stop at my parents.

This trip wasn’t nearly as bad, although it certainly wasn’t an experience I wish to repeat any time soon.

This is what we usually have to deal with

This is what we usually have to deal with

To her credit, the Cutlet was well behaved for much of the journey. After a trip to see “princess ballet” earlier in the day, she was worn out and napped for a couple of hours.

What is princess ballet? Basically, a local ballet school dresses up their performers like the various Disney princesses, and they dance to the appropriate Disney songs.

Most of the girls in the audience came dressed in princess dresses of their own. If you were curious, the Cutlet opted for her new Sleeping Beauty dress.

It was amazing to see how transfixed all the girls were during the performance. They were completely captivated. There was almost no squirming or restlessness amongst the crowd.

PrincessBallet

It was like this, only slightly less animated

Afterwards, the girls got to take pictures with the “princesses,” and then they served tea and cakes while the “princesses” mingled and said hello to the girls.  The Cutlet willingly had her picture taken, but was a little shy when they tried to talk to her. I guess it is a little intimidating to meet your heroes. After all, I don’t know how talkative I’d be if I met Joe Stephen.

Once the Cutlet awoke on the trip home, thanks to the miracle of the iPad, we were able to keep her entertained by showing her Toy Story and Tangled.

How did parents manage road trips before such technology? I have no idea. Either children used to be more patient, or parents just told them to shut up and that was that.

My family would sometimes play fun guessing games during our road trips. Either that, or my sister and I would pass the time by fighting with each other.

As for Christmas, I’d consider it to be a success, although each night I was there, I went to bed feeling like I had eaten about a weeks worth of food. And now that I think about it, I probably did. That certainly wasn’t low fat egg nog I was drinking.

The Cutlet certainly had a good week. She got spoiled rotten by her grandparents, got to play with her cousins, and received lots of great gifts, including several princess dress up outfits.

Regardless, it is nice to be home. We haven’t had much of an opportunity to settle into our house yet, and it will be nice to have some time to do so over the next few days.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, The Cutlet, Trips and Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

