It’s a New Day!

Another 31 Days of Blogging are complete!  And much like last year, the fun won’t be limited to December.  I’m providing you an extra special bonus 32nd day at NO EXTRA CHARGE!

31DaysOfBlogging

How did this year’s posts compare to last year’s?  I’d say that there was a sadder tone to this year’s, and for obvious reasons, much of the content focused on the moving process.  But as always, I tried to mix up my topics and provide a little something for everyone.

Surprisingly, I really didn’t even have to include too much filler.  Admittedly, there were a few posts I had written ahead of time and scheduled them to be published on a particular day.  Given my schedule this month, it was the only way I could go 31 for 31.  If you feel cheated by this for any reason, I apologize.

I just re-read the entire month, and here’s my opinion on how it went:

Best postThe Cutter’s Guide to Fixing America: Gay Marriage – This one was probably the most meaningful post of the month, and I feel I did a good job considering the sensitive subject matter.

Worst postYahoo! Mail, The Ad Pundit, and Grooveshark Queue Trivia – Yeah, this one was filler.  And sadly, nobody guessed the songs!

Post I most enjoyed writingAnother Christmas Interview with Michael Bublé – For some reason, I really enjoy having imaginary conversations with pop singers.

Most random postFire, Water, Sponge – It was December 2nd, so I didn’t want to use up any of my more prominent posts that early.

Most time consumingG.I.Joe: Cobra’s Creatures – These cartoon reviews take a lot of time.  You’re welcome, Squinty.

Strangest postThe iPod – My “conversation” with the iPod was slightly stranger than my “conversation” with the M&Ms.

Thanks to everyone who followed along throughout the month.  I hope it brightened your spirit knowing that each day you would get to read another rambling from the mind of the Cutter.

Now that the 31 Days of Blogging are over, and I’m no longer contractually obligated to write every day, it’s time to take a look ahead and see what 2013 holds in store for The Cutter Rambles.

In a couple of weeks, I’ll be starting a new job at which I intend to give my absolute best effort.  As a result, I’m likely to have less idle time on my hands.

Because my time has become more valuable, I’ve decided that as much as enjoy writing, if I’m going to spend time doing it, I really need to start profiting in some way.  Not to sound too egotistical, but there are quite a few people out there making money writing on the internet, and I’m confident that I can write better than a good many of them.

Me in 2013

Me in 2013?

How will I accomplish this?  I have some ideas which I’m planning to implement, some of which will directly affect this blog.  One thing I’ve been working on recently is making The Cutter Rambles more SEO friendly.  There’s a good chance that I will create a Facebook page for the site, and if the mood strikes, I might even purchase the domain name http://thecutterrambles.com.

If anyone has any other good suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

I also have a few non-TCR ideas that I’m planning to implement.  With any luck, I’ll be able to share them with you as the year goes on.

And hopefully, I’ll actually make steady progress towards the completion of my novel.  I know I said something similar last year, so I need to persevere even if my inspiration waxes and wanes as severely as it did in 2012.

As for the content of this blog, with the exception of this past month, I made a point to emphasize quality over quantity in 2012.  This may have resulted in fewer posts, but I felt that the posts were better written, and were hopefully more enjoyable to read.  If you compare a 2012 post to a 2009 post, I hope that you can notice marked improvement.

Anyway, as far as I’m concerned, the future appears bright and sunny.  Don’t believe me?  Just watch this:

Here’s to a great 2013!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Got Something to Say?

