Saturday 9: Hakuna Matata

In my journeys across the blogosphere, I recently came across the Saturday 9 blog.  Every Saturday, Crazy Sam presents nine questions and asks bloggers to provide some personal answers.

Normally, I’m all busy and stuff on the weekends, so my blogging output is minimal.  But helpfully, Sam publishes the questions on Friday.  And it just so happens that on this particular Friday, I’ve determined that my productiveness at the office is complete for the week.

So as part of my never-ending quest to provide my readers some insight into the life of the Cutter, I’ve decided to participate.  It should be a splendidly fun time for everyone involved, especially you!

This week’s theme is “Hankuna Matata”

(Unfortunately none of the questions relate to the boat of the same name that used to be parked in my neighborhood)

1) Sam is crazy for The Lion King. Do you have a favorite Disney movie?

Does this only include their animated films?  (Wait, why am I asking questions on my own blog?  Who do I expect is going to answer this?)  Including their live action movies, the answer is obvious: Tron.  As for animated movies, I have always had a soft spot for Robin Hood.

2) The song tells us that Hakuna Matata “means no worries.” Is something worrying you right now?

My greatest concern right now is whether or not the cake I had this afternoon is going to work its way through my system before I leave the office.

I’m hoping it can wait until I get home because I haven’t played Scramble With Friends in a few days.

3) Who is the most optimistic person you know?

Me?

4) Elton John wrote “Hakuna Matata” but didn’t record it. Name a song Sir Elton is famous for singing.

Rocket Man.  Although I kinda prefer William Shatner’s rendition:

5) Can you play the piano?

I can press on various keys and noise will result.  Does that noise in any way resemble a song?  No.

6) Congratulations! You just won a guided African Safari Tour! 8 days in Zambia and Botswana for you and a friend. All expenses paid, and allowing you access to breathtaking, unforgettable sights. It takes at least 30 hours to get there, and before you go you’ll need yellow fever and hepatitis vaccinations and medication to prevent malaria. Are you up for it?

Sounds great!  Oh wait, I’ve got a child and very little available vacation time at work.  So no, this is not going to work.

7) There’s been a mistake. You really won a 4-night Disney Bahamas Cruise for two. Are you relieved or disappointed that you’ll be partying with a guy in a Simba suit on the Lido Deck instead of observing a real lion in the wild?

As much as I love Disney, it would be a bit cruel to go without the Cutlet.  If she ever found out that her parents went on a Disney cruise and left her behind, she’d probably flip out.

Then again, sometimes she flips out because we give her the “wrong” type of macaroni and cheese.  So that’s not saying much.

8) Let’s bring this back to real life — do you have any vacation plans?

Not really.  The whole lack of vacation time is kind of a drag on things.  I’d like to get back out to Las Vegas at some point.

9) Describe your luggage. Is it durable and high quality? Or are you like Crazy Sam, who has been known to use an Old Navy shopping bag as her carry-on?

I have a few large duffel bags that my former employer gave to us when we went on a company trip.  I generally use those, but I’m pretty low maintenance when it comes to luggage.  I wouldn’t put it past myself to use a trash bag as luggage if I didn’t have any better options.

And, we’re done!  Hopefully I’ll have some more idle Friday afternoons in the future so I can do this again.

Based on the way work has been going lately, I’d say the chances of that are very high.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness, The Cutlet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Saturday 9: Hakuna Matata

  1. Welcome to the Saturday 9! Your first contribution was great. We try to post before noon (CST) on Friday. I like the idea of traveling with duffel bags, because they probably expand to be whatever size you need them to be. And the Shatner clip is priceless!

  2. We have no actual luggage. It’s duffel bags and back packs for us, too. Even if spell check doesn’t recognize it as a word.

  3. Katie says:

    Welcome, you have some interesting answers, we have a good time here at Sat9.
    Katie atBankerchick Scratchings

  4. I hope you get to join us again too!

  5. Carrie Rubin says:

    William Shatner definitely has an interesting way of ‘singing.’ I’ve had the pleasure (displeasure?) of hearing his most recent CD. I’ll just leave it at that…

  6. Pingback: Saturday 9: I Don’t Want to Talk About it | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

