Disappointments

I have written about my sense of optimism and how it often leaves me feeling disappointed.  While many of the disappointments have revolved around sports, I have also suffered some letdowns outside of the sporting world.

Here are a few examples:

Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back

It’s not fair to say that Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back is the most disappointing movie I’ve seen.  I had insanely high expectations for Star Wars: Episode I and The Matrix Reloaded, and neither of those movies came close to living up to them.

But I share my disappointment in those movies with most of America.  I think I may be alone in the way I felt after seeing Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back.

I used to be a big fan of Kevin Smith.  I really liked Clerks and Mallrats, and while his other movies were sometimes uneven, (The second half of Chasing Amy is almost painful to watch) I generally enjoyed his work.

One of the thngs I liked about Smith’s movies was that they took place in a collective universe. There was a continuity between movies (Characters would reference events and characters from other movies) and the characters Jay and Silent Bob appeared in all of them.

When I first heard about Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, I became excited.  Reportedly, this movie would feature characters from multiple Smith movies, and it would tie his whole fictional universe together.

(Interestingly, this was also one of the reasons I was looking forward to, and ultimately disappointed by, the conclusion of Stephen King’s Dark Tower saga.)

Photo source: Wikipedia

Photo source: Wikipedia

While there were indeed many cameo appearances from previous Smith characters (If you’ve ever wanted to see Jason Lee play multiple characters in one movie, this is your big chance!) it was mostly a let down.

There were two main problems with the movie:

  1. Jay and Silent Bob are great in small doses, but you don’t want them carrying an entire movie.  To Smith’s credit, there are jokes about this in the movie.  Then again, unless you’re going to go super meta, maybe that was a sign that the movie was a bad idea.
  2. The movie was really one big inside joke about Hollywood.  I’m sure that Smith and his indie-director buddies thought this was hilarious, but I’m not sure how well it went over with the rest of the country.

I really have only myself to blame for feeling so let down by this movie.  There was no reason for me to have had such high expectations, and yet, I can’t recall ever feeling quite so disappointed when leaving a theater.

Then again, maybe I should have been disappointed, because I absolutely loved Clerks II.  I rate it as the best of Smith’s movies, and more in line of what I expected from JASBSB.

YoCrunch Waffle Mix-ins

Mrs. Cutter and I were in the yogurt aisle at the supermarket when she pointed out an item, and said, “I’m surprised you haven’t had that before.”

When I saw the item she was pointing to, my response was, “That’s only because I am just now learning of its existence.”

The item in question was YoCrunch’s Waffle Bites mix-in yogurt.

YoCrunch

Longtime readers will know that I am a fan of waffles (and waffle-themed cereal) as well as dairy products that utilize the wonders of mix-ins.

Seeing that YoCrunch had combined the two concepts caused me to hope that snack utopia had finally been discovered.  Had YoCrunch created the ultimate snack against which all future snack foods would be judged (and likely found wanting)?

The next day, I brought one of the cups in for breakfast.  I excitedly ripped off the top, sprinkled in the waffle bits, stirred the mixture around, and prepared myself for the wonderfulness that was surely about to ensue.

I was expecting brilliance.  I was expecting my taste buds to be overwhelmed by pleasure.  Instead, I was kind of grossed out.

The problem was that the yogurt itself was not very good.  If you’re dealing with a subpar base yogurt, then even the greatest of mix-ins isn’t going to save it.

Over the next few days, I finished the four-pack.  Every time I opened a new cup, I carried hope that maybe this time it would meet my expectations.  (There’s that damned optimism again!)  Sadly, the other cups were just as bad.

Mac and Chicken

It was July 3rd, 2004.  A few friends were in town for the holiday weekend.  We were hanging out at my friend’s house, drinking beers, getting buzzed, and having a very good time.

As day turned into night, the group decided to head to a nearby restaurant for some dinner.  Our restaurant of choice was Rock Bottom.

Photo source: Flickr

Photo source: Flickr

As I scanned the menu, I realized just how hungry I was.  I thought I would have a difficult time making a choice because everything on the menu sounded delicious.  Then I saw one particular menu item, and I realized that I didn’t have a choice at all.

Mac and Chicken: Baked chicken mixed in with macaroni and cheese.  It sounded like the meal of kings.  It sounded like a meal so great that I might never want to eat anything else ever again.

After placing my order, my thoughts became consumed with the Mac and Chicken.  I can’t remember even anticipating a meal as much as I was looking forward to that one, and it felt like an eternity had passed before the waiter finally brought out our meals.

Finally, the wait was over.  The bowl was set in front of me, and with no further delay, I eagerly dug in.

And…meh.  This wasn’t the king of meals.  It wasn’t even that good!

One problem is that it was surprisingly spicy.  Due to my strong sense of taste, I do not like spicy food, but I could have dealt with that if it tasted good.  Sadly, the chicken was bland, and the macaroni was kind of mushy.

I’m not going to say that the meal ruined my holiday or anything.  But it turned what could have been one of the best days ever into just a good day.  Such wasted potential.

Maybe this is all my own fault.  Maybe I just build things up in my head to the point where nothing could have possibly lived up to my high expectations.

Does anyone out there have any similar stories of building things up in your head and then being left with a sense of disappointment?  If so, please feel free to share.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Disappointments

  1. Squinty says:

    Leaving IJ and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull was a painful experience. Also the Action Figure Super Store was a huge let down.

  2. RFL says:

    This happens to me all the time, and I had the same let down with Jay and Silent Bob. I generally try to avoid things that have been hyped up–Nutella for example.

  3. I built up high expectations with those chicken and waffle chips. I couldn’t find them anywhere for the longest time, so it made my anticipation grow out of control. It’s all I could think about. I would ask everyone if they’ve seen them anywhere. I was like a crackhead about it. I would sit at work and just imagine how they would taste. Ya know, just like delicious chicken and waffles, of course. Sadly they tasted like chips sprinkled with a powdered version of over seasoned chicken broth and tiny bit of maple. I kept eating them thinking that last chip was a bad one. Over and over and over for the next few days, until I finally realized (when the bag was empty) they weren’t getting any better. I also do this with wine. I love a good drink and I seem to be the only chick that doesn’t drink wine so I keep trying it. I mean everyone says its delicious and it has a higher alcohol content than beer so win-win, right? Wrong! I feel like if I was kidnapped, blindfolded, and forced to consume poison, this is exactly what it would taste like. It’s like those childhood years of throwing back cups of Dimetapp and Robitussin, shivering with disgust while I swallow. I’ve tried it at least 50 times (I have a serious over optimistic problem). I hate it every time. Sometimes I wonder what the hell is wrong with me..

    • The Cutter says:

      I had high hopes for the chicken and waffle chips as well. And while they weren’t necessarily bad, they just kind of tasted a bit strange. Like, “Yeah, I guess that’s how a chicken and waffle chip would taste, but it isn’t really that good.”

  4. Who would have thought you’d get a bad meal at a place called Rock Bottom?

  5. There are few things worse in life than being let down by a meal you were really looking forward to. I never saw the Jay and Silent Bob movie, but Clerks was an old classic I’d forgotten about. 37..In a row?? Lol.

    • The Cutter says:

      You might actually like it if you watched it. It seems like more of a “hanging out on the couch watching a movie on cable” type of movie.

  6. MissFourEyes says:

    Coffee flavored soda. I thought it was brilliance. I was so wrong.

  7. UndercoverL says:

    In my previous blog in another life, I spent an entire post lamenting food I loved that was either no longer in existence or no longer edible. You should sign my petition for WP to give those posts back to me. 🙂

  8. There was this restaurant where they had this ridiculously amazing looking chocolate cake for dessert. I had visions of it being chocolate nirvana, with my tastebuds giving a standing ovation just before passing out from ecstasy. But it was really, really disappointing. It was dry and not particularly flavorful, just super sweet. It made me sad.

    • The Cutter says:

      You should have made your waiter/waitress aware of your disappointment. Make them feel bad for failing you, and maybe they’ll cut down on the price.

  9. Oh. Food often leaves me disappointed. I ordered a Phillie cheese steak at a chain restaurant. It came with au jux. So sorry, but that’s a French dip, people! It was greasy and sad.

    • The Cutter says:

      I’ve seen a lot of strange interpretations of “Philly cheese steak” Unless it’s from a genuine place in Philly, be cautious!

  10. twindaddy says:

    I liked Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, but I didn’t have any expectations going into it.

  11. The Hook says:

    I felt the same way about Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back. It could have reached levels of greatness, but as it turns out, it barely left the ground.

  12. I love kevin Smith movies. The musical dance scene in Clerks 2…I didn’t see that coming.

  13. Pingback: Teenage Mutant Ninja Song Battle | The Cutter Rambles

  14. Pingback: Back from the Beach | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

