Housewarmings and Deviled Eggs

Our house has officially been warmed!

This past Sunday, Mrs. Cutter and I invited our friends and neighbors over for a housewarming barbecue.  Considering we moved in almost six months earlier, the housewarming part might seem slightly belated, but we wanted to use our patio, and the prospect of an outdoor gathering seems more appealing in May than in January.

Anyone want some iced tea? (Photo source: Flickr)

Anyone want some iced tea? (Photo source: Flickr)

Since we had no plans for the holiday, we decided that the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend would be a perfect time.  With so many people out of town, it allowed us to pretty much invite everyone we wanted, and not have to worry about things getting too crowded.

Side note: If we did not invite you, it was PROBABLY an oversight.  We really tried to invite all of our friends, although I’m sure we accidentally omitted someone who now hates us.  If you fall into this category, you need to invite us to do something in the near future so that your name will be in the forefront of our minds.

I was excited to put our new Weber grill to its first real test.  We had a wide array of foods to cook: Chicken breasts and kabobs, hot dogs, hamburgers, and even some lamb chops.  Despite the varied selection, everything got cooked in a reasonable amount of time, and I didn’t burn my hand even once!

If anyone who was there felt sick on Sunday evening, I’m sure it was merely a coincidence.

Our new grill performed admirably

Our new grill performed admirably

Despite all of the grilled food, what was the most coveted food at the party?  Deviled eggs!

My mother, remembering that I was a big fan of deviled eggs, asked if we had made any.  When I said that they were not currently on the menu, she took the initiative to make some herself.  (Hooray for Mom!)

It seemed like a dozen eggs would have been sufficient, but those 24 egg halves disappeared in mere minutes.  Fortunately, I was able to down a couple before they were swarmed.  I’ll have to buy at least two dozen eggs next time.

Apparently I'm not alone in my love of these. (Photo source: Flickr)

Apparently I’m not alone in my love of these. (Photo source: Flickr)

Between the good food and good company, we had a very enjoyable afternoon.  We got to catch up with friends we haven’t seen in a while, and we were able to get to know some of our neighbors a little better.  It was especially interesting to hear some of the neighborhood gossip.

Additionally, I was able to dominate at cornhole!  I usually suck at the game, but I guess the home court agreed with me.  I assured everyone that the set was brand new, so I shouldn’t have had any real advantage.  I’m not sure everyone believed me.

Since we have a little bit of food (and lots of beer) left over, there’s a good chance that we’ll be doing it again soon.  So for those of you who missed your invite, now is the time to reconnect with us!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Housewarmings and Deviled Eggs

  1. Katie says:

    I guess my invite got lost in the mail. As long as I didn’t miss out on any cheesecake, my heart will go on.

  2. ly says:

    When I saw the first photo, I thought that you might live in one of the northern places in USA that got snow this holiday weekend. Glad your housewarming didn’t need that much warming!!

  3. goldfish says:

    I want some of those deviled eggs.

  4. jimmy kickball says:

    Wish I could have been there.

  5. The picture of the patio in January brings up something I have always puzzled about. Winter and Summer are on opposite ends of the temperature extremes we experience on this planet, yet we find one of those extremes enjoyable to be out in, and the other extreme thoroughly horrible to be out in. You’d think we’d strive for the happy medium of Spring and Fall, but we seem to thrive on warmer temperatures and outdoor activity peaks in July when it is the hottest. I guess this is a silly thing to be curious about, but then again, I’ve always been more of a cold weather person….

  6. The Hook says:

    Congratulations on the successful housewarming, folks! Reading of your beautiful home and friends has brightened my day.

Got Something to Say?

