Unwell

Today’s Daily Prompt asks: “When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

I thought it would be appropriate to have Mrs. Cutter weigh in on this topic, since she’s the one who typically has to deal with me when I’m not feeling well.

I asked her for a detailed response, thinking that I’d get something fun.  Instead I got this:

You like to whine and you tend to turn into a 5 year old boy.

Lesson learned: Don’t count on Mrs. Cutter for elaborate quotes on the blog.  Honestly, I should have already known that based on her lackluster answers for Women on Women.

I’ll admit that I get whiny when sick.  I think I’m just looking for a little bit of sympathy.  Is that so wrong?

Nothing said "sick day" quite like Bob Barker! (Photo source: Flickr)

Nothing said “sick day” quite like Bob Barker! (Photo source: Flickr)

I harken back to my grade school days.  When I stayed home sick, I’d get to watch The Price is Right, my mother would cook up some chicken soup, and we’d rent the movie Tron.  It almost makes me nostalgic for being sick.

I suppose I could change my approach next time, and emulate Mrs. Cutter.  When she gets sick, she becomes mean as if she wants the whole world to share in her misery.

Since the title of this post made me think of this video, I shall conclude by sharing it with you all:

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Unwell

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care | On My Front Porch

  2. Katie says:

    I thought of that song too when I started reading this. I prefer to soldier on alone, but some Price is Right never hurt anyone. I loved that dice game.

  3. I’m a terrible, whiny sick person too. There’s no shame in that.

  4. djmatticus says:

    Ah, chicken soup and movie marathons… yes, that is the best way to spend a sick day, or two or three. I think I probably get super whiny when I’m not feeling well too… I know I turn into a useless blob – unable to help with the simplest tasks. Luckily, I don’t get sick all that often.

  5. hisimage13 says:

    I remember watching the Price is Right also. 😀

  6. Bard says:

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with whining when sick! Being sick sucks, a free pass to whine a bit makes the sickness more bearable. I would even venture that it’s tougher on someone with a big ego to whine and be slightly vulnerable than act like you can do it all yourself.

  7. Pingback: What Do Pigs Know That Humans Don’t? | The Jittery Goat

  8. shazza91321 says:

    Wow, you dated yourself by saying the price is right and Tron in the same sentence lol…You guys a funny about pain.

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Take Care Of The Voices | Musings&Rants

  10. Pingback: Take Care, Daily Prompt | Edward Hotspur

  11. I’m guilty of both whenever I’m sick….. whining and wanting everyone to share in my misery.

  12. Pingback: Pride | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  13. Pingback: Pride | Kick-Ass Ireland!

Got Something to Say?

