Five Years!!!

It’s time to celebrate!  Today marks the five year anniversary of The Cutter Rambles!

This was totally a thing in 2007 (Photo source: Wikipedia)

This was totally a thing in 2007 (Photo source: Wikipedia)

Back in the good old days of 2007,  I had a blog on my MySpace page.  (Keep in mind that back then, MySpace was still an actual thing)  After finding a new job in December of that year, I thought it would be a good idea to abstain from blogging and concentrate on doing actual work instead.

That dedication lasted for about six months.  In June 2008, I decided to once again chronicle my thoughts in blog form.  And so, The Cutter Rambles was born!

My first post was a brief recap of my anniversary trip to Canada.  It wasn’t especially exciting, but that was common of my early posts.  I can’t imagine they held much interest for anyone besides close friends.

Niagara Falls may be beautiful, but it didn't inspire an interesting post.

Niagara Falls may be beautiful, but it didn’t inspire an interesting post.

If anyone who has recently stumbled upon the blog wants to go back and read some of those early posts, you probably won’t be too impressed. I didn’t spend much time worrying about things like proofreading, formatting, or adding pretty images.  In addition, I tended to ramble on a bit.  (I suppose that should be expected based on the blog’s name)

Because I’m always happy to celebrate myself and my accomplishments, I’ll provide you with a quick retrospective of the five years of TCR (It isn’t cool unless it’s been acronymed!)  To start, I asked some of my long-time readers to list their favorite posts and why they enjoyed them.

BGLT:

The Movement: Part II – It was thoroughly entertaining because I could imagine your horror and having to deal with the situation.

The Cruise – I like the story about “Flasher.”  That always cracks me up.

C-Bone:

Fun with Childproofing – I remember thinking the toilet lock can’t be that bad, it must be operator error. Not too long after, it was my turn with said lock and I was more entertained than chagrined to learn it lived up to its reputation.

Story Time – Instead of the more common comments about sports teams or players, you are commenting on children’s books and calling the characters rude or drama queens.

Squinty:

Cleaning out my Closet – You chronicled some great toys, even if you allowed your mother to sell them. Something for which I can never forgive you.

Atlantic City – Featuring the likes of Stafford H. Cassell and Waffle House!

For those of you who really want to catch up with your The Cutter Rambles history, I’ll provide you with a few sample entries from over the years.  These aren’t necessarily the best posts or my favorites (You can find those on the About page), but taken together, they do a decent job in illustrating the evolution of the blog.

Year One:

Commercial Analysis – Eventually I spun this concept off into my sporadically updated blog The Ad Pundit.

Did America Make a Mistake? – My first pseudo-political post where I question the election of Barack Obama.

The Pants Problem – Discussing how pants aren’t made for men of my proportions.

Year Two:

I am NOT complaining about the Phillies – I do enjoy bitching about my favorite sports teams.  Except as you can tell by the title, that was not what I was doing.

Atlantis – This post is only memorable for the major announcement contained within.

The American Flag is Not Offensive – America! F*** Yeah!

Are We Excited? – My last days before becoming a father.  How little I knew back then.

Sonogram

Year Three

The Movement – My first post about poop.  It wouldn’t be my last.

41 Percent – A 41% receipt might not even make it onto my fridge these days.

Beginnings and Endings – A sad farewell to my grandfather.

Year Four

Game On, Cookies – This was part of the 31 Days of Blogging.  My diet began to mess with my brain a little here.

Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance – This is how I imagine bad sequels get made.

A Very Waffle Crispy Valentine’s Day – An old married couple celebrates love.

Young MC and Sports Optimism – Recalling the time when I made Dale Murphy feel bad.

Year Five

Welcome to the Jungle – A tribute to the world’s greatest band.

The iPod – The time I learned that my iPod was a bit of a jerk.

The Terrible Twos – Sadly, it’s now five months later, and many of these problems still exist.

The Bride – One of my first attempts at flash fiction.

bride

In honor of the anniversary, I decided to create a Facebook page for the site.  So if you use the Facebook, and you enjoy reading my blog, please don’t hesitate to Like the page:

https://www.facebook.com/TheCutterRambles

Honestly, I’m not sure if the Facebook page will provide any real added value if you already follow the blog…but it might!  Maybe I’ll post all kinds of fun and interesting crap there, and if you don’t Like it, you’ll miss out.  Can you really afford to take that chance?

You might miss great advice like this!

You might miss great advice like this!

I’d like to conclude by thanking all of my readers.  Whether I know you personally or merely virtually, it has been great having you here, and I hope you’ve enjoyed getting a glimpse into the mind of the Cutter!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Trips and Events and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Five Years!!!

  1. SW_ysobel says:

    Happy Blogversary !

  2. Wow, congrats on the anniversary. That’s quite a long time blog -wise. I wonder what the appropriate gift is for that? Paper? Aluminum? Sarcasm? Ah, there we go. I give you heaping doses of that.

    And one other thing – I did NOT see one of your G.I. Joe posts up there, which are some of the funniest stuff I have ever read. I might have to link to one on my blog so other people can then also nag you. They might not be quite as obsessed about parodying old cartoons as I am, but man that show deserves it.

    Speaking of rambles, have a good day.

  3. Happy anniversary…..I’d sing the song, but it would be redundant. I’m glad I found your blog….it makes me happy…..happy…..anniversary, happy anniversary. Sorry, got carried away in the moment.

  4. ly says:

    Happy FIVE!! Definitely worthy of celebration…

  5. Happy fifth anniversary! I had to go back and see what you did to Dale Murphy. I’m sure he took it better than Lenny Dykstra would have….

  6. MissFourEyes says:

    Five years? Wow. Happy anniversary!

  7. 5 years! Congrats! Where’s the punch and pie? I was told there would be punch and pie.

  8. RFL says:

    Congratulations on the five year milestone!

  9. 23 Likes on your shiny new FB Page!! (as the real me)

    congrats on your 5th blog-go-versary 😀

  10. djmatticus says:

    Five years?!! Five years!!! (I’m picturing Jeremy Piven’s character from Grosse Pointe Blank as I’m typing that – only in the movie he actually says “10 Years!”) That’s an amazing achievement. I am slowly approaching my one year blogging anniversary and can only hope that I can continue on for another four years after that… Thank you for all the laughs and insights you’ve provided since I’ve been on Word Press and been reading your posts!

  11. beefybooyawn says:

    Holy shit, five years! Congrats! What’s amazing is someone other than me remembers Myspace. It’s not for lack of trying to forget it though.

    You know, all this time you’ve been commenting on my blog and I never bothered to check to see if you had a blog until just now. And I’ve found it on such a momentous day. I’ll most definitely try to stop by more. Also, congrats on having a kid, that’s something that has eluded me up to this point (I’m pretty sure I have no kids, Maury hasn’t contacted me to be on his show yet).

    OH, and the commercial analysis thing. I’m glad someone got to that. I’ve been wanting to do that for years. I bitch about commercials all the time but I’ve never actually put those complaints down on digital paper. Good call there.

    Keep up the good work. Maybe I’ll actually be around for this next 5 years.

    • The Cutter says:

      I’m sure I’ve similarly ignored commenters on my blog, but always great to have new people stop by.

      I like doing the commericals, but my attention wanes too much to be consistent. I tried having a few friends do them too, but their attention wanes as well.

    • beefybooyawn says:

      Honestly you’d need a full time crew to compete with the constant flow of rubbish being put out as commercials. It’s understandable.

  12. Pingback: Back from the Beach | The Cutter Rambles

  13. Pingback: Guest Post: The Cutter on Happy Blogging | rarasaur

  14. Pingback: 400! | The Cutter Rambles

  15. Pingback: Pity Party | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

