Moving on…Again

I have been at my job for a little over six months.  Today marks the third time that I have switched offices.  The surprising part (as many of my former co-workers can attest) is that I’m actually happy about this.

My new digs

My new digs

In 2005, I was so unhappy about being asked to switch desks that I threw a fit and came close to getting fired over it.  Admittedly, I didn’t handle it with the utmost grace, but I REALLY liked where I had been sitting and I didn’t want to leave.

At my new place of employment, I first changed offices a couple of months ago when the entire company moved to a new floor in the building.  They warned me about the move when I started and I had barely gotten settled in, so I didn’t really care.

After the move, there was a lot more empty space, as the company had left room to expand and add new people.  As a result, they were able to give all of the employees their own offices.  At least they gave individual offices to everyone except two people: Me and my fellow web developer.

While we may have had one of the bigger offices in the company, if I was given a choice, I would prefer to have my own space.  I like my co-worker well enough.  He’s friendly, and we have shared our common space well.  But he’s still another person who I have to share a confined space with.  Sometimes it’s nice not to have to listen to another person’s personal phone calls or smell the food that he brought for lunch.

Mrs. Cutter warns me that this may be a dangerous change for me.  My concentration levels can sometimes…waver, and without another person around, I might not always be as focused on my work as I should be.  Then again, my co-worker rarely seemed to pay much attention to what I was doing anyway, so I don’t think it will make much of a difference.

StickersOne drawback to all of the moves is that my territorial markings keep getting removed.  I tend to mark my workspace with banana stickers, but thanks to all of the moving, I haven’t been able to build up a substantial collection.

I suppose this just gives me an opportunity to start a new collection.  Maybe I’ll get creative and try to make a fancy design or picture out of them!

I could go all out like this couple did in this old AOL commercial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DB3OJ9epr_0

Since it’s Friday, and I have nothing else pressing on my mind (Uh oh, maybe Mrs. Cutter was right about my level of focus) I decided to do some Ad Pundit style analysis on this commercial.

Please head on over and check it out!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving on…Again

  1. Katie says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one that does that fruit stickers.

  2. djmatticus says:

    Moving, blah. Change, double blah. I hope you end up being happy with your new digs. I’ve had to move around a lot in the past couple years two – 5 different work spaces in two different offices… But, I’ve been at my current space for almost a year now… so, that either means it’s almost time to move again or maybe, just maybe, I’m settled in for a bit. Fingers crossed.

Got Something to Say?

