Summer Birthdays

Another birthday has come and gone.  While I enjoy celebrating my birthday, its passing has always indicated one truth: The summer is coming to an end.

As a child, my birthday was a somewhat ominous occasion.  It typically fell on the next-to-last week of summer camp, and I knew that once camp ended, the school year wasn’t far away.  In college, I used to anticipate the start of the school year because I generally had more fun while I was away at school than I did at home.  I was especially excited for school to resume after I turned 21, because I was super pumped to be able to drink legally at school.

I have a suspicion that once my daughter enters school, I may start to eagerly look forward to the start of the school year.

Speaking of my daughter, she also has a birthday that falls in the summer.  My experience is that having a summer birthday can be both a blessing and a curse for a child, and I expect my daughter will grow to feel the same way.

Here are some pros and cons of having a summer birthday.

Image source: Flickr

Image source: Flickr

 

Con: People are often away

The second week in August seems to be prime time to schedule vacations.  This has always resulted in spotty attendance for my birthday celebrations.  (Yes, I’ve considered that people were just looking for an excuse not to come.) For my eleventh birthday party, I think so many of my friends were busy that I ended up inviting about five “second-tier” friends instead.

One of those friends ended up cleaning up my basement the next morning.  My mother always lamented that I didn’t invite that kid over more often.

Being born on July 3rd, the problem will likely be even worse for my daughter.  On the bright side, she’ll likely always have the day after her birthday off.  But if she wants to have a party, she may sadly find that many of her friends are out of town.

We found this to be somewhat beneficial this year.  We were able to invite just about everyone we wanted to her birthday party, knowing that the many vacations and other plans would help keep attendance down.

Pro: Outdoor activities are possible

While a good snowball fight could indeed liven up a birthday party, people born in the winter can usually only consider indoor options for their parties.  My birthday parties usually consisted of a bunch of kids running around my backyard playing soccer, tag, and a variety of other games.  In my opinion, that was much more fun than those parties where everyone was stuck indoors.

Con: Outdoor activities may not be appealing due to heat

My birthday is typically a hot day, and thus far, my daughter’s birthday has always featured 90+ degree temperatures.  That kind of heat makes those outdoor activities seem a little less appealing.

This is typical for early July (Image source: Flickr)

This is typical for early July (Image source: Flickr)

 

Con: No bringing cupcakes into school

You know the drill: On your birthday your mom would make cupcakes or cookies to bring into school, you’d share them with the class, and you’d get to feel all special for a day.  I never got to do that.

In fourth grade, my teacher allowed the people with summer birthdays to choose a day during the school year to celebrate, so I went with my half birthday of February 4th.  For one year, I finally got to experience the thrill of having my classmates devour my mother’s homemade treats.

I think that’s part of the reason why I sometimes try to make my half birthday “happen” with little effect.

Pro: No school

While it was sad that I had to miss out on the cupcake thing, on the other hand, I didn’t have to go to school!  Instead of worrying about homework and tests, I could spend my birthday either at camp, or doing some other fun activity.

This is probably more fun than being in school.  (Image source: Flickr)

This is probably more fun than being in school. (Image source: Flickr)

 

Pro: Mid-week parties!

During the school year, having a birthday party in the middle of the week probably isn’t feasible.  But during the summer?  Why not?  There’s no school the next day, so why not have all of her friends over for a big sleepover?

Then again, this would involve her having a bunch of friends over for a sleepover, which is a scary thought in itself.

I suppose there are positives and negatives to birthdays at any time of the year, and there’s nothing we can do about it anyway.  The only way to change it would be to invent a time machine and change when our parents had sex.  And is that something that any of us are really interested in doing?

I guess there’s really nothing to do but to enjoy our birthday whenever it may be.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness, The Cutlet, Trips and Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Summer Birthdays

  1. rarasaur says:

    So true! I’m August 27th, which is historically, the first day of school, or the day before the first day of school, or some other inconvenient, sweltering time. I think schools start kids a few days into September now… but when I was growing up, it was usually 8/27.

    My husband’s birthday is very nearly my exact half birthday, though, and his isn’t cursed, so I just re-appropriate his special day for the both of us. 😉

    • The Cutter says:

      Ugh, having a birthday on the first day of school is like the worst of both worlds

    • rarasaur says:

      Yep, pretty much. 🙂 Luckily, I celebrate everything else, so the day itself was never quite so important. 😉

    • The Cutter says:

      Well then…Happy Anniversary of Elvis’ death!

    • djmatticus says:

      I’m going to win this one – June 6th. D-Day, to start with, so nobody ever really feels like celebrating on my bday. And then throughout school it was always the last week of school… and I know you are thinking, “Wow, that’s great, it signals the beggining of summer” except what always happens the last week of school? Finals. And graduations. And all kinds of other responsibilities that mean birthdays aren’t as special as they might have been otherwise. Yep. I win. Or, is it lose…?

    • The Cutter says:

      Has anyone actually said that they don’t want to celebrate because it’s D-Day?

    • djmatticus says:

      No. Not really. But, I always wondered if it was weird for my maternal grandfather – he went ashore on Omaha Beach on D-Day.

  2. Al says:

    Birthday greetings, my friend. The pros and cons of a birthday date will resonate with all of us regardless of the date. I’ve always looked on the bright side of mine (June 28th). I am almost exactly half-way from Christmas going either forward or back. I could never complain it was too close to Christmas. My biggest problem now is lamenting how many of them have passed! Again, salutations.

  3. Happy belated birthday!! My March birthday usually consists of mud or snow. 😦

  4. scarlettsands says:

    more pros then 🙂 x

  5. I have a winter birthday – just a few days before Christmas. Always a great time for a party. I feel your pain.

  6. UndercoverL says:

    You will definitely celebrate when the summer is over. I am CONVINCED summer was developed by the penal system to punish us parents for having sex.

  7. Kevin says:

    I have a Spring Break birthday so I fall into that “everyone is on vacation” birthday loser that never has a party where guests actually come to. I know that everyone was in town…it hurts…it hurts bad…sniff…sniff…I’m OK. I’ll get through the painful memory….now I “dislike” this post. Sorry, Cutter….I’ll pull myself together.

  8. The Hook says:

    I have looked high and low and found only pros to reading your work, Cutter!

  9. Summer birthdays abound… me, my Mom, and three of my sisters were born in the summer. One of those sisters shares your birthday, and another shares mine. Yes, not only was I born during the summer, I have a sister exactly 5 years younger than me, who gets cake on the same day as I do. If I had ever been one to care about birthdays, I’d have probably felt extremely cursed by my circumstances, but it never bothered me.

    Happy belated!

  10. I never had to experience the issues of summer birthdays (sept here) until I had my son. He is June 2. Our school is out here, but luckily, it’s usually just the first week of summer, so he take treats on the last day of school and most kids are still around.

  11. MissFourEyes says:

    Mine’s in June, and I almost always had finals then.
    Happy belated birthday, Cutter 🙂

Got Something to Say?

