No Food, No Problem

This past Saturday was Yom Kippur.  That’s the Jewish day of atonement for all you gentiles out there.  For those of you who may know a few Jewish people, this is the day they go to services and don’t eat.

Normally, the whole not eating thing causes me some difficulties.  I once wrote a post about my attempt to get through the day.

I have come to the conclusion that eating too much immediately before the fast was doing more harm than good.  I would end up feeling painfully bloated all night and I don’t think it made me feel any less hungry the next day.

This year, I made sure to drink plenty of water the day before the fast and then ate a filling – yet not overly huge – dinner.  My last meal consisted of two hot dogs, a box of raisins, and a protein bar.

I'm apparently not as devout as Hank Greenberg.  (Image source: Flickr)

I’m apparently not as devout as Hank Greenberg. (Image source: Flickr)

I actually began to feel the effects of the fast that night when I attended the Phillies vs. Nationals game. (Yes, I’m aware that this isn’t exactly the prescribed way to spend the holiest day of the year.)  When you’re at a baseball game and everyone else is eating and drinking, it starts to make you wish that you could have a little something as well.  And a helmet sundae would have distracted me from the crappy game that I was viewing.

I attended religious services on Saturday morning, and while listening to the rabbi’s sermon, I decided that instead of just trying to endure the fast, I should spend my day productively.  I wanted to do something that might benefit others, but I wasn’t sure what exactly I could do.

Finally an idea came to me.  Despite pledging to get out of the grocery game just a week earlier, I realized that I needed to return to Safeway.  But this time, I would be using my incredible powers of savings for good!  I wouldn’t just be doing the grocery shopping for the family, but I would also buy a couple of bags worth of food that I could donate to a food drive.

Safeway thought they saw the last of me.  They were wrong!  (Image source: Wikipedia)

Safeway thought they saw the last of me. They were wrong! (Image source: Wikipedia)

I figured this was a win-win scenario.  Not only would I be helping others, but it would give me more freedom to buy food that was on sale.  I would no longer be restricted to food that my family would consume.  If rice wasn’t on the menu for the week, but it was on sale, then a box of rice would be purchased!

Unfortunately, I learned that shopping on an empty stomach makes things more difficult.  Towards the end of my trip I began to feel a bit light-headed.  The sales that I normally would have spotted began to elude me.  I was also distracted because every food item in the store seemed extra delicious to my famished eyes.

I’d like to say that I was once again able to surpass the 50 percent threshold, but sadly, I was held to a mere mortal 41 percent.  I guess this round goes to Safeway.

Nothing says "atonement" quite like G.I.Joe! (Image source: Wikipedia)

Nothing says “atonement” quite like G.I.Joe! (Image source: Wikipedia)

Having accomplished my goal for the day, I felt satisfied enough to spend the rest of the day on the couch watching DVDs.  (Naturally, I watched the Satellite Down episode of the G.I. Joe cartoon that I annually watch on Yom Kippur)

By the end of the day, I was quite happy that I had avoided a pre-fast binge.  When dinner time came around, I wasn’t feeling my usual hunger-inspired loopiness.  Sure, I was plenty hungry, and I may have made a point to tell the Cutlet to appreciate her food, but I was definitely feeling better than I had in years past.  When Mrs. Cutter served me a well-cooked post-fast steak, I even managed to eat it at a reasonable pace.

So apparently, I can function properly without food.  I just don’t particularly want to try doing it all that often.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to No Food, No Problem

  1. Katie says:

    I had no idea you’re a Jew!

  2. ly says:

    Have never tried fasting. Not sure I would be good at it–I think anger would set in. Probably not the feelings that a day of religious fasting is supposed to conjure. Just started taking a continuing ed course called the Gospels by Rabi Dave. Could I ask you some questions as it goes along? I’m not familiar with a lot of the terms and am trying to write them down phonetically.

  3. djmatticus says:

    Mmm, it’s been a couple hours since I last had anything to eat, do you have any post-fast steak left?
    The queen and I have learned, through trial and error, not to go shopping when we are hungry. We spend more. We buy stuff we don’t end up wanting. It’s a disaster.

  4. Hahahaha! I guess that was a good thing you did. So good you should do it more often.
    Hehehehehe.
    Hello at last, Cutter fellow.

Got Something to Say?

