Obligatory Freshly Pressed Post

On Friday evening, I finally got the email.

Hi, Cutter!

I hope your blog is ready to welcome some new readers — your post ( https://thecutterrambles.wordpress.com/2013/10/11/the-cutters-guide-to-fixing-america-party-lines/ ) will be featured on Freshly Pressed as a WordPress.com editors’ pick!

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the term “Freshly Pressed,” every day, WordPress picks eight blog posts that they feature in a special section.  According to WordPress, they look for posts that “enlighten us, inspire us, entertain us, and get us talking.”

I’ll admit that until recently, I didn’t even know that Freshly Pressed was a thing.  I mostly kept to myself and didn’t bother to interact with many fellow bloggers.  Once I started actively reading other WordPress blogs, I soon learned that being Freshly Pressed was not only a thing, but a good thing.

Bloggers who have their posts Freshly Pressed receive a ton of traffic.  For most blogs, it’s almost a guaranteed influx of new readers and followers.  More importantly, bloggers who are Freshly Pressed get to spend a day as kings and queens of the blogging world.

Upon learning about this, the same question came to my mind that has undoubtedly come to countless other bloggers: “So why haven’t I been Freshly Pressed, and how do I go about making this happen?”

Perhaps I just needed to include random pictures of Jennifer Lawrence.  Because EVERYONE likes Jennifer Lawrence!  (Image source: Wikipedia)

Perhaps I just needed to include random pictures of Jennifer Lawrence. Because EVERYONE likes Jennifer Lawrence! (Image source: Wikipedia)

There’s no simple answer.  There are a lot of blogs out there, and the good people at WordPress have a crap ton of posts to filter through in order to pick out the cream of the crop.  Even the greatest blog post of all time might not be recognized.

Despite knowing how difficult it was to achieve the honor, I couldn’t help but feel a little envious of those who had been Freshly Pressed.  (And in some cases twice!)  I may have even joined a support group for those who had been similarly snubbed.

And then on Friday, that magical email finally arrived.

It’s ironic that I’ve received this honor so shortly after publicly whining about the blogging world.  Or maybe it isn’t.  Partially because I got that out of my system, and partially thanks to kind words by some fellow bloggers, my enthusiasm for blogging was renewed.

After reading the email, I made sure to spruce up the place to make sure it was ready for new visitors.  And then, I kept anxiously checking the Freshly Pressed page to see when my post would appear.

And boom goes the dynamite.

And boom goes the dynamite.

On Monday afternoon, my post was finally added to the list, and as expected, I received a lot of traffic and a lot of new followers.

Now that I’ve had a couple of days to process everything, I am both excited and worried about the particular post that finally earned me Freshly Pressed status.

Honestly, I’ve written very few posts that I feel were actually worthy of the honor.  It seems that many of the posts chosen have an air of importance about them. While I’m not going to dismiss my writing as fluff, I’m also not exactly writing world-changing stuff here either.  (Then again, sometimes the world just needs a good chuckle, and if stories about Bronies or break room brownies can provide that, then maybe I am changing the world.)  There have only been two or three posts that I think would have been suitable choices.  (If you want, you can go through my About page and try to guess which ones)

People just can't get enough stories about making orange juice.  (Image source: Flickr)

People just can’t get enough stories about making orange juice. (Image source: Flickr)

I was partially convinced that they’d eventually choose a random post of mine for the honor.  That was mostly because up until now, the most publicity the blog has received was when it was featured in the Washington Post Express.  What was that post about?  Making orange juice.

I’m glad that it was one of my more serious posts that was chosen.  Like I said, I try to keep this blog on the lighter side, but I do have some more important ideas I sometimes want to share with the world.  I’m proud of what I wrote, and I’m glad that this particular message is going to get shared with a larger audience.

On the other hand, I’m also worried because I think that post might misrepresent my blog a bit.  While this wasn’t necessarily a “political” post, I’m sure many people took it that way.  The problem is, I don’t often write about politics.  In a given year, you’ll likely find more posts about G.I.Joe than anything even remotely political.  (Not that there isn’t a subtle political message in G.I.Joe)

I’m sure that some of my new followers were left disappointed when my follow-up post involved my adventures at the grocery store.  Unfortunately for you guys, that’s much more emblematic of what you’ll usually find here.  I still hope you stick around though.  Don’t worry, I may not talk about politics much, but I will do my best to entertain you.  (Unless I’m in a bad mood or something.  In that case, I’ll probably just whine or rant)

Conversely, I think that the nature of the post might have limited how many people actually read it.  Some people who might really enjoy my blog probably saw the post on the Freshly Pressed page, figured it was just another political blog and instantly dismissed it.  Oh well, I consider that to be their loss.

After the excitement of the past few days, I expect things to calm down here soon.  Based on what I’ve read from others who have been Freshly Pressed, the spike in traffic is generally temporary.  My readership levels will probably drop back to close to their normal levels in a day or so.   But that’s okay.  I now have a fancy banner to display on my blog, and I can hold my head up high knowing that for one day, I was on the top of the blogging world.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness, Trips and Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Obligatory Freshly Pressed Post

  1. I’ve been out of the loop recently since I’m swamped with work and other things, but congratulations!!! It’s a pretty cool thing to be Freshly Pressed and you deserve it.

  2. List of X says:

    Congratulations! Yes, now that you’ve been Freshly Pressed, you’ll never again have to wonder “Why not me?”. Except now you’ll eventually get to wondering “Why not again?” 🙂

  3. Squinty says:

    And I bet none of these “new” readers can tell you where Trent Cole went to college.

  4. Squinty says:

    Also, people don’t like Jennifer Lawrence, they like Andie MacDowell

  5. lukasak says:

    Thanks for the info about your experience with being Freshly Pressed. I just got my e-mail last night, and now I am checking every 15 min! Can’t wait to see it up there. At least I know it might be a few days.

  6. Congrats on the Fresh Press! That was definitely a deserving post…

  7. Yay….congratulations on FP!! You deserve it. 🙂

  8. ly says:

    Congrats! And I knew you when…

    • The Cutter says:

      Yes, you can say I knew the Cutter back when he was a lowly normal blogger, not the epitome of blogging perfection that he is now.

      I don’t expect anyone to actually say that, but it would certainly be a nice ego boost.

  9. your pages are always worthy of being freshly pressed. will you be serving hamantaschen or do we have to bring our own .

  10. Pingback: NOT FRESHLY PRESSED? HELP IS ON THE WAY! | SERENDIPITY

  11. Pingback: Follow Me? | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

