WordPress and I are NOT Friends Right Now

I am not a fan of WordPress at the moment.  I just typed out a post, only to have WP erase it from existence.   Ironically, it was going to be the next installment of my Why Does This Exist? series in which I advocate wiping things from existence.  While I can appreciate irony as much as anyone, it’s still rather annoying.

That would be frustrating enough on its own, but the sports blog I write for is also powered by a WP engine, and that been having issues today as well.  I had a bunch of edits disappear on me this morning, and due to a couple of site crashes, it took me way too long to finish a post.

I realize I should get out of the habit of composing my posts in WordPress, but because I often start and finish my posts on a different computer, it’s much easier to do it that way rather than writing them in a Word document and then copying and pasting.  (Or at least it’s easier provided that the post isn’t completely erased!)

So bad news for anyone who was anxiously awaiting my next Why Does this Exist? post.  It will just have to wait until next month.

Thankfully, I decided to save the draft of this post immediately before adding that above link, because after doing so, WordPress unexpectedly closed the post editor.  Had I not saved the draft, this post would have disappeared as well.

As a result, you will get no images and no fun links with this post!  If you want to complain about that, take it up with WordPress!

I guess that’s a bit too harsh.  So here’s a video clip where Jar Jar Binks dies in the opening hour of Star Wars: Episode I.  Enjoy!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to WordPress and I are NOT Friends Right Now

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I don’t think I can love a video more right now.

    All of WP is a mess right now. Hopefully they get it straight ASAP.

  2. stephrogers says:

    Urgh. I hear you! I had an entire post vanish the other day too. I also write on different computers and things so usually go straight into the WordPress dashboard, but I’ve stopped doing that since the incident of the curious vanishing post. I also can’t get used to this new reader thingy where little summaries come up and you have to click through to read the entire post. It’s an extra click, I don’t like extra clicking. I like immediate gratification.

  3. Al says:

    I’m convinced that WP is the advance element of an alien civilization bent on destroying earth. Blog is Golb spelled backwards. If that doesn’t sound like a space creature, I’ll turn in my Treky membership.

  4. Haven’t had a post vanish on me yet, but I can’t get to anyone else’s post -I click on it in the reader and it pops me back up to the top. WTF? And why pop ups of the posts? I mean their stats thingy is depressing enough without taking away hits. I.just.don’t.get.it.

    Thanks for Jar Jar. That tiny bit of violence to such an irritating character makes me feel better.

    • The only way to get to the posts themselves from the Reader now is to click on the link in the pop up that says “View Original”. It is highly annoying….

    • The Cutter says:

      I wonder if this is WP’s way of uniting people, since the populace seems pretty much in consensus that this View Original crap sucks.

    • I can’t even get to the pop ups I mean. It just hops me back up to the top of the reader. All I can do, to get to the pop ups mind, is click on the blogger’s name, go to the page with all their posts and click on the post where it shows me the pop up where I press the view original . . . arghhhhhh.

  5. NOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooo!!!! Leave Jar Jar alone!!!!!!

    I’m glad the WP issues have been avoiding me. One of my other followers is leaving WorpPress over similar issues she has had over the past few days….

    • The Cutter says:

      Have we found a closet Jar jar fan?

    • The Cutter says:

      I don’t know how I missed that post. I think much of the Jar Jar hate comes because fans were pissed about the movie as a whole and he was an easy scapegoat. If the rest of the movie was good, people would have accepted JJ as pointless comic relief. Instead, there were lots of problems and JJ just became the easiest thing to focus on.

      I mean some people don’t like the Ewoks, but they’re generally accepted because people like the rest of the movie.

    • Yeah, I saw that in my research for that post. With apologies to those who consider themselves to be THE true fans, you have to really be a douche to hate the Ewoks. I didn’t realize there was a ton of backlash against “Menace” itself, but what did people expect? Really it’s almost impossible to build on a franchise that has become legendary without just up and rebooting the whole thing…

  6. ardenrr says:

    I keep trying to ‘Like’ your post but it won’t load….. Consider it liked.

Got Something to Say?

