More First World Problems at the Office (and Grooveshark Trivia!)

I haven’t done a Grooveshark queue trivia in a while, so I figured I’d start off with that.

For those who don’t know how it works: I currently have five songs in my Grooveshark queue.  I will provide a clue for each, and you try to guess the artist and title. Anyone who correctly guesses one of the songs will get a special prize.

Please make all guesses in the comments field and limit one guess per song.

Here are the clues:

1. The song was used in a viral video created earlier this year.

2. The song comes from an album that is a sequel to a popular album from the 2000’s.

3. The song was played during the end credits of a movie that was a “threequel.”

4. The song samples a song from an artist who died in 2013.

5. The song samples a TV theme song from the ’70s.

I’ll reveal the answers on Monday, so you have all weekend to think it over.  Good luck!

Moving on…

Shortly after I started my new job, I complained about some “first world problems” I was having in my new office.  I’m happy to say that most of those issues have been resolved.  I now have access to the company’s WiFi, the quality of snacks in the lunch room has improved, and I’ve gotten accustomed to the elevator layout.

But that doesn’t mean I don’t have other things to complain about!  Please bear with me as I do a little more “white whining” and bring you More First World Problems at the Office!

The slow water filter

In an attempt to maintain optimal levels of hydration, I typically drink a lot of water throughout the day.

The office kitchen is equipped with a water filter.  While I appreciate having access to cold, clean water, I am annoyed by the extremely slow pace at which the water is dispensed.  I typically drink from a super-sized Washington Nationals cup, and it takes over 30 seconds to fill it up. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

I decided to provide you with a video so that you can truly appreciate the misery of waiting for the water.  Please brace yourself for what will surely be the most exciting thing you’ll see all day:

Believe it or not, I actually had to cut off the second half of that video.

People don’t recycle properly

What does that symbol mean? Trash?  It must mean trash! (Image source)

What does that symbol mean? Trash? It must mean trash! (Image source)

There is a trash can in the kitchen.  To its immediate right is a container clearly designated for recyclable items.  You’d think that in the year 2013, people would have grasped the concept of separating trash from recyclables.  Apparently some of my co-workers are either ignorant, or they simply don’t care.

Here’s are some of the things I have found in the recycling bin: A banana peel (That would be acceptable if we had an office compost pile.  But we don’t.), a half-filled coffee cup, and an empty Chinese food container.  None of those things are recyclable!

I used to try and pick the non-recyclable items out of the bin.  It didn’t take long for picking through the garbage to lose its appeal.

Trash can placement

Here’s the scene: I’ve arrived at work, and I sit down at my desk to enjoy my breakfast.  Once I have devoured my yogurt cup and Special K bar, I lean over to throw out the wrappers and – Surprise! – the trash can isn’t there!

When the cleaning staff comes through the office each night, they change the liner bag inside the can.  When they’re done, they leave the trash can near the front of my desk where I can not reach it from my chair.  (I’ve tried throwing the trash, but the flight pattern of a Special K wrapper is difficult to predict.)  As a result, when I need to throw out my trash, I am forced to stand up!

Incorrect!

Incorrect!

I know, I know.  I live a tough life.  Please be sure to keep me in your prayers.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to More First World Problems at the Office (and Grooveshark Trivia!)

  1. Twindaddy says:

    I don’t know how you put up with such a shoddy work environment.

  2. ardenrr says:

    My office recently replaced our water cooler to the entire firm’s delight. When it worked, which was rare, it would take about a minute to fill up a small cup. Ridiculous!!

    Now, for the songs. Here goes nothing:
    1. The song was used in a viral video created earlier this year. Maybe Kanye West’s ‘Gone’?

    2. The song comes from an album that is a sequel to a popular album from the 2000′s. — I’m thinking it’s the Eminem album and I’m going to guess the song ‘The Monster’.

    I gave up on the other 3. Such a quitter. Haha – I hope you like hip-hop. Otherwise, I’m screwed 🙂

  3. bzelll says:

    I don’t want to brag too much, but somebody’s office got a new water dispenser that is not only fast and cold, but also has a spiffy blue light! I did watch part of your video… that was painful.

  4. The Hook says:

    Highly original and just plain fun!

  5. stephrogers says:

    Is the first song the Harlem Shake? You’d better post the answers, I’m dying over here…

  6. Pingback: A Very Merry Song Battle | The Cutter Rambles

  7. Al says:

    Do I sense an “Office Space 2” movie in the offing?

  8. Pingback: 2013: The Year in Injuries | The Cutter Rambles

  9. Pingback: 42 in Review | The Cutter Rambles

  10. Something must definitely be done.

  11. Pingback: Unemployed for a Day | The Cutter Rambles

  12. Pingback: New Job, New Problems | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

