2013: The Year in Injuries

If you were breathlessly awaiting the answers to my Grooveshark queue trivia, here they are:

1. Gone – Kanye West
2. Love Game – Eminem
3. Back in Time – Pitbull
4. Can I Kick It? – A Tribe Called Quest
5. Welcome Back – Ma$e

I realize that I went with all hip hop songs. I’ll have to mix up the genres next time.

I’d like to congratulate Arden for correctly naming one of the songs in my Grooveshark Queue trivia!  She will receive a special prize in the mail, and to help congratulate her, you should head over to her site and hit the follow button.  (And while you’re there, be sure to check out this fascinating post in which a cat is interviewed!)

Yesterday, I forgot to celebrate hitting the halfway point of the month. Believe it or not, I’m now more than halfway through my month of posting every day. It’s been a struggle at times, but as they say, “No pain, no gain.”  Speaking of pain (and of clunky segues!), in today’s post, I’ll take you through the various injuries which I have suffered in 2013.

Fortunately, I haven't been hospitalized...yet. (Image source)

Fortunately, I haven’t been hospitalized…yet. (Image source)

One of my goals this year was to get into better shape.  I think I’ve made some good progress, and I hope that continues in 2014.  Right now, I’m looking pretty good, but by the end of next year, I hope to be “shirtless mirror selfie” hot!  If I reach the goal, maybe I’ll even post some of those pictures for your enjoyment.  (Note: I probably won’t.  Sorry to get your hopes up, ladies.)

Thanks to my frequent trips to the gym and my various recreational sports, I’ve also suffered a few physical setbacks along the way. Throughout my life, I’ve always been nagged by minor injuries that would pop up and then go away quickly. At my advanced age, they don’t seem to go away quite as quickly as they used to.

Here is some of the trauma that I’ve endured thus far:

TrapeziusTrapezius muscle – I have had issues with my “traps” for years now.  I usually perform a series of trap-focused stretches before any workout, but one day in February, I apparently didn’t quite stretch well enough.

The day after my workout, my back slowly seized up, and I could barely move without pain.  It was difficult to sleep for a few days, as any adjustment I tried to make sent waves of pain through my body.  Heck, it was kind of hard to do anything but sit still for a couple of days.

Extensor tendon in left foot – This was caused either by my cleats being too small, or from breaking in a new pair of sneakers.  To alleviate the pain, I was forced to walk up the steps sideways for a couple of weeks.

Hip flexor – I thought this was an abdominal strain at first, but one of my softball teammates enlightened me to the true problem.  He also showed me a few stretches that should help with it.  Since then, as long as I remember to stretch it out properly beforehand, it hasn’t bothered me.

Gray412Rotator cuff – You know how they say that it’s important to use proper form when doing push ups?  Apparently, they’ve got a good point.  In late March, I was doing a set of push ups when I felt something pull in my shoulder.

I should have rested it, but resting injuries isn’t really my thing.  I often go with the much more harmful method of “Just power through it, because pain is just weakness leaving the body.”  Resting it wasn’t really even an option, because softball season was rapidly approaching.  Naturally, all the throwing required in softball served to make the injury worse.  Fortunately, when I eventually visited a doctor, he told me that as long as I had a full range of motion, it likely wasn’t torn.

I began to add some exercises to my workout routine that served to strengthen the muscles around the rotator cuff.  Those exercises have seemed to improve things, although I still notice it bothering me from time to time.

Trapezius muscle (This time with a bonus pinched nerve!) – While trying out those new exercises for the rotator cuff, I managed to re-injure my trap.  While the pain wasn’t nearly as bad as before, it might have been more of an inconvenience because I also pinched a nerve that caused numbness in my left arm.  It was somewhat scary when I tried to lift something with my left arm and found I had almost no strength in it.

As you can see, I’ve spent most of 2013 feeling discomfort in one part of my body or another.  Mrs. Cutter often remarks that if I’m this banged up in my thirties, it’s frightening to think how incapacitated I’ll be when I’m older.

She’s got a point, and there’s a good chance I’ll barely be mobile by the time I’m 50.  But I think that all the pain will seem worth it once I start posting those shirtless selfies.  Don’t you agree?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 2013: The Year in Injuries

  1. I’m glad you finally revealed the answers. I’ve never heard any of these songs (that I know of) so it makes me feel better about not being able to guess. Grats, Arden!
    And grats to you for making it half-way through your month of blogging.

  2. ardenrr says:

    I hear you on the rotator cuff. Mine is constantly in pain! Stupid dance….

    Hooray for no hospitalizations!! (knocks on wood while kissing a rabbit’s foot)

    • The Cutter says:

      Yeah, I know I’m kind of tempting fate, but I figure my trap is still kind of bothering me as is, so if I’m already in pain, nothing else bad can happen. Right?

  3. BGLT says:

    Ask Jimmy Kickball for shirtless mirror selfie tips!

  4. stephrogers says:

    Oh damn I got NONE of those songs. I suck at this game.
    That’s an injury prone year for sure. I hope next year is better.
    Have a great Christmas
    xx

  5. samara says:

    Hey there!
    Very cool blog -I dig your musical taste muchly. I haven’t known anyone who was into Tribe called Quest in a very, very long time.
    What’s with the anatomy lesson? intriguing…who is this cutter person, and why are we learning muscle groups? I…must…follow…

  6. Twindaddy says:

    Well….no pain no gain, right?

  7. Pingback: Win the Day | The Cutter Rambles

  8. Pingback: Graham’s Last Word | spinalsolutions

  9. Pingback: 42 in Review | The Cutter Rambles

  10. Pingback: Daddy Wasn’t Meant to be a Gymnast | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

