Timing the Pee

At about 6:35 this morning, I emerged from under my covers, stumbled over to the bathroom, and emptied the contents of my bladder.   After this task was complete and I had stumbled my way back into bed, I was – to my great surprise – able to fall back asleep for over an hour before my daughter woke me up again.

8559705727_2ebaf02a0aBetween my age and the level of hydration I like to maintain on a daily basis, it simply isn’t very realistic to expect to go eight hours between trips to the bathroom.  This means that at some point during the night, I’m going to have to get out of bed and pee.  Unfortunately, being able to get back to sleep once I’m done is something that happens on a less consistent basis.

My chances of returning to sleep are increased the earlier my bathroom trip occurs.  If I have to get out of bed at 3 AM, then I’m fairly confident that I will fall back asleep.  However, if the wake up call happens after 6 AM, it’s very questionable.  During the week, this isn’t a huge issue, but on the weekends, this can be quite a bummer.

It’s another sure sign that I’m getting older.  Ten years ago, it likely would have been easy for me to get back to sleep even at 7 o’clock, but now that work and parenthood requires me to get up around that time every day, my body clock is pretty telling me to get up and go.

I’ve begun to make a point to drink even more water right before I go to bed.  I figure that the more water I put into my system, the more likely it is that I’ll have to pee earlier in the night.  This approach carries its share of risks.  One night not too long ago, I drank so much that I actually had to pee twice in the night.

I suppose I could just embrace my destiny as an early bird, but I’m not quite ready to give up.  I’m confident that if I keep working at it, I will one day be able to master the science of pee timing.

Now, if I could just figure out how to do the same for my daughter…

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Timing the Pee

  1. I feel your pain….and it’s not kids that wake me early in the morning….it’s my dog!! 4:30 is becoming fairly consistent for me. 😦

  2. stephrogers says:

    My youngest wakes up at 5am every day. When he is at his dad’s house one night a week I still wake up at 5am. It is just plain evil.

  3. Pingback: 42 in Review | The Cutter Rambles

  4. last winter this man , i think , kept me awake all night stomping on the ceiling at a different time every night…1 am & 3 am or 2 & 4 or 3;30 & 7 or 4;23 & 6;15… i had to move.

Got Something to Say?

