A Difficult Transformation

I suffered a huge disappointment on my wedding day.  Sure, the wedding itself was great, but earlier in the day, something happened that almost put a damper on the whole affair.

The night before the wedding, we drove past an “Action Figure Super Store” where they sold vintage action figures.  Despite it sounding awesome, the need to be punctual for our rehearsal dinner meant that the soon-to-be Mrs. Cutter did not allow us to stop in.

On my actual wedding day, having a couple of hours to kill in the early afternoon, my groomsmen and I ventured out to play a game of mini-golf.  After our mini-golf game was complete, we once again passed by the AFSS, and Squinty asked if we could stop.  Although the trip had the potential to throw off the timing of the day, I figured, “It’s my wedding day.  Why not?”

(On a side note, it appears that we will soon be making a trip to the Action Figure Super Store in Squinty’s honor.  Congrats to him!)

We were overly excited, and I think we even took a happy group picture outside.  As it turned out, the thrill of stopping at the AFSS was much greater than any joy we experienced when inside.

Who wouldn't pay top dollar for a Sigmund Freud figure (Image source)

Who wouldn’t pay top dollar for a Sigmund Freud figure (Image source)

I am not sure what exactly we expected, but we were disappointed to find that the store merely consisted of racks of old action figures in their original packaging.  Any plans we might have had of purchasing a figure were squashed by the “collector’s” price scale for the figures.  It might have been cool to buy a Lion-O figure from the 80’s, but I wasn’t ready to pay $15 to do so.

Fortunately, I was able to move past that disappointment and enjoy the remainder of the day.

Recently, Mrs. Cutter told me that her friend from high school opened a vintage shop where they sold old toys and video games: The Deep End of the Sandbox.  Naturally, I wanted to stop by and check it out.

Unlike my wedding day, I was not left disappointed by this experience at all.  There were old action figures (Wolverine!  Go Bots!), video game systems (Atari!  NES!) and even fun T-shirts from the 80’s.  (Mrs. Cutter came close to buying a Fry Guys T-shirt.)  The toys were not in their original packaging, but rather left free and open to look at.  Even better, they were reasonably priced.

“This is what the Action Figure Super Store should have been!” I happily declared.  If only I had stopped there on my wedding day.  So much heartbreak could have been avoided.

Mrs. Cutter and I decided to buy each other an early Christmas present.  I bought her a Sprite doll from Rainbow Brite, while she bought me Grimlock, the Dinobot leader.  (In case you hadn’t noticed, I’m a fan of the Transformers.)

Here is Grimlock being offered some ice cream by one of the Cutlet's toys.

Here is Grimlock being offered some ice cream by one of the Cutlet’s toys.

I spent the car ride home trying to figure out how to transform Grimlock into his tyrannosaurus mode.  I am almost embarrassed to say how much trouble I had figuring it out.  In my defense, I never owned Grimlock when I was younger, but I still think it should have been much easier for me.

Finally, I maneuvered Grimlock into his dinosaur mode, and he will soon take his place in our basement near Optimus, Rodimus, and a few other friends.

If you’re in the Long Island area and are a big fan of old toys and games, I suggest you stop by The Deep End of the Sandbox and see what they have to offer.

And good news: Later this afternoon, I will have a guest poster on The Cutter Rambles!  And not just any guest – a princess!  Make sure you stop by to check it out!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Difficult Transformation

  1. Squinty says:

    The AFSS debacle set up a whole day of high expectations low results for me

Got Something to Say?

