Guest Post: The Invisible Princess – For the Love of Candy!

I was very excited when I was contacted by today’s guest.  As you may know, princesses are a big part of my life these days.  So when I had the chance to have an actual princess write something here, I jumped at the opportunity!  Even better, she wanted to write about Candy Crush – a game that Mrs. Cutter may – or may not – have an addiction to.

So please give a hearty The Cutter Rambles welcome to…The Invisible Princess!

IMAGE 1

If you haven’t heard of Candy Crush, it’s the mobile game that’s so addictive; players have left their children stranded at school, spent copious amounts of money, and even suffered injury as they attempt to complete the ever-growing levels of the game.

I joined the masses after receiving one too many requests to play it. My curiosity got the better of me and I wanted to see what all the fuss was about.

That was earlier this year. I am still playing the damn game. I don’t even particularly enjoy it, but somehow I have become undeniably hooked … it appears to have some kind of quality about it that compels people to keep on playing … especially if they’re having a hard time beating a level. Now, I fear that it is only a matter of time before this game consumes me … like the many it has already taken over and spat out the other end of its crazy-making world.

Could a ridiculous game really be that addictive? I set out to find out.

10 SWEET SIGNS THAT CANDY CRUSH SAGA HAS TAKEN OVER YOUR LIFE

IMAGE 2

IMAGE 3YOU PLAY ON MORE THAN ONE DEVICE

I discovered my little problem was turning into a bigger one when I realised that I often will switch between iPhone, iPad, and laptop, in a vain attempt to get more lives.

IMAGE 3YOU HAVE MISSED OUT ON IMPORTANT EVENTS DUE TO YOUR FIXATION

Due to my addiction, I have become what I despise the most … the frequently late friend. Even this blog was late due to Candy Crush.

IMAGE 3YOU THINK ABOUT IT WHEN NOT PLAYING

Heck, I’m thinking of playing it now! I often find myself waking from a Willy Wonka style dream, where I am frolicking in rivers of caramel, lounging on beds of wafer, and where everything seems to be strawberry scented.

IMAGE 3YOU ARE POPULAR IN CANDYLAND

This one relates to the number of friends you have on Candy Crush. More friends mean more gifts. These friends – also called Enablers – help you get by in hard times by sending you little pick-me-ups, in the form of bonus moves and lives. They are also invaluable when you are strung out getting to the next stage and require a ticket to support your habit. However, they can become increasingly annoying when they don’t follow gamer’s etiquette and just keep asking you to give them more, without giving you anything in return. They then move up to Moocher status.

IMAGE 3WHEN YOU SIT DOWN TO PLAY, YOU OFTEN PLAY LONGER THAN YOU INTENDED

Jenni Weaver, a 40-year-old mum of four, told Mail Online:

I’m playing it for eight hours a day now and it’s become a real problem … The longest I’ve played for is 12 hours with just a few short breaks in between. It’s worse than smoking … I’ve even been late picking my ten-year-old up from school because I’ve been stuck on a level.


IMAGE 3YOU HAVE ARGUED WITH SOMEBODY OVER CANDY CRUSH

Prince Charming and I can be are super competitive when it comes to gaming. Our motivation to beat one another and get to the highest level purely drives our addiction. This is generally followed by some self-righteous taunting, and a little victory dance.

IMAGE 3YOU HAVE SHELLED OUT MONEY TO GET THROUGH A LEVEL

Fortunately with this one I am innocent on all counts. However, some haven’t been as lucky … Like the 14-year-old boy who spent $4,300 on boosts and extra moves, and the women, according to Mail Online, who throw down 400,000 a day to support their habits.

Money may make things easier … but it doesn’t solve all your problems.

IMAGE 3YOU HAVE DELETED THE GAME FROM AT LEAST ONE DEVICE IN AN EFFORT TO QUIT

No way! What if we are stuck in traffic/ at the doctors/ queuing for tickets or just have five minutes to kill? After this long, I couldn’t possibly be expected to go back to … conversation?!

IMAGE 3YOU HAVE PURCHASED ANY OF THESE

IMAGE 4

IMAGE 3YOUR THEME WAS CANDY CRUSH SAGA FOR HALLOWEEN

IMAGE 5

So, although Candy Crush Saga appears to have become something of a habit for me, I wouldn’t call myself a habitual user … and I’m definitely a world away from Candy Crush Anonymous and an intervention. Mind you, most of the people who would be a part of my intervention are also stuck in Candyland.

Having said that, I’m off to attack the next level … again.

Happy gaming!

Thank you, Invisible Princess!  If you enjoyed this post, I suggest you head on over to her site and check out some of the other great posts there!  To help you out, I’ve even linked to a few of them:

My Story

One Size Doesn’t Fit All

Love and Other Cat-astrophes

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guest Post: The Invisible Princess – For the Love of Candy!

  1. Thanks for having me as Guest Poster 🙂

  2. Pingback: FOR THE LOVE OF CANDY – MY VERY FIRST GUEST POST! « The Invisible Princess

  3. stephrogers says:

    Hahaha, I love seeing my picks for blog of the year come together! I have to say I am a bit of a Candy Crush widow at times. I REFUSE to play, I also refuse to listen to my girlfriend’s tales of woe regarding levels and boosts and lives and all that other business. I think it is the devil and I know that once I started there would be no turning back. Those candy crush leggings look cool for a birthday present though. I might need to bookmark that link.

  4. The worst dictator in the world couldn’t brainwash more people more thoroughly than some of these game apps do. I fear for the future of mankind…

  5. Pingback: Crushed 5th Favorite Post of 2013 | A Stroke of Life

Got Something to Say?

