Another Lackluster New Years Day

New Years Day has traditionally been one of my least favorite days of the year, and I realize that’s kind of sad.  It’s like I’m almost guaranteed to start off the year on a bad note.

This pictures sums up how many people feel on New Years Day.  (Image source)

This pictures sums up how many people feel on New Years Day. (Image source)

As a child, it made sense that I was not a fan of New Years Day.  New Years Eve was typically one of my favorite days of the year.  My parents would have a big party and I’d get to stay up late.  But on New Years Day, the party was over.  After the excitement of the night before, there wasn’t much to do.  (I’ve never been a fan of college football, and bowl games seem to be the highlight of the day’s TV schedule.) Even worse, after throwing a party the night before, my parents were tired and not in the mood to deal with me.

New Years Day was also a sad day because it signified the unofficial end of the holiday season. All the parties, presents, and festivities that come with December were over. Even worse, the arrival of New Years Day indicated that my vacation from school was coming to a close.  Many years, school would resume on January 2nd, so I had a return to real life hanging over my head.

I may be an adult now, but I’m still not a huge fan of New Years Day.  Mrs. Cutter and I managed to stay up past midnight to watch the ball drop, which means that we’re both feeling tired.

It’s quite amazing how my perspective of 2 AM has evolved over the years.  When I was awake at 2 AM on January 1, 1986, I thought it was the coolest thing ever.  After entering college, being up at 2 AM became more the norm than the exception.  These days, if I’m still up at 2 AM, I know I’m going to be paying for it the next day.

Mrs. Cutter and I were up at 2 AM last night, but it wasn’t because we were up partying.  (Lights went out at 12:30.) Instead, we were woken up by screams from the Cutlet’s room.  When we checked on her, there didn’t appear to be any real cause for her screams, but she was inconsolable.  She’d grab for us one second, and then try to push us away the next.

We’re guessing that last night was a bit too much for her.  We had some of her friends over for a kid-friendly New Year celebration.  (Complete with a sparkling cider toast at 8 PM!)  This meant she was up way past her bedtime, and consumed a lot of junk food.  I think the extra sugar may have just hit her at that point, and her toddler brain was simply unable to process it properly.

After a few minutes of throwing a fit, she eventually calmed down and told us, “I want to go back to sleep now.”  She settled into her bed and resumed her slumber. Unfortunately, it wasn’t nearly as easy for her parents to do so.  Other obstacles to a peaceful slumber included an upset stomach and an alarm clock that didn’t seem to realize that today was a holiday.

Now that I have a child, I’m much more sympathetic to my parents’ disinterest in dealing with me on New Years Day.  I’ve come to realize that when a parent says, “You’re tired.  Stay in your room,” it usually actually means, “I’m tired, and I don’t have the energy to deal with you right now.”

The Cutlet and I did go over to the house of one of her friends for a playdate this morning.  It was obvious that after last night, both kids were a little off.  His parents also seemed like they were fighting to stay awake, so I tried not to overstay my welcome by too much.

Funniest movie ever.  (Image source)

Funniest movie ever. (Image source)

Since returning home, we’ve all been mostly lounging around, entertaining ourselves with various media devices.  I even got to take a much-needed nap while watching The Naked Gun.  (This was a friendly reminder that not all of my New Years Day memories are bad.  I originally saw The Naked Gun in theaters on January 1, 1989, and that remains one of my favorite movies.)

I told the Cutlet that real life resumes tomorrow, as her daycare will re-open.  Even she seems excited about resuming her normal routine, although it’s going to be a bit of an adventure waking her up tomorrow morning.

There is one positive about New Years Day being lousy.  It means that there’s a good chance that the year can only get better!  So here’s to making every day of 2014 better than the last.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Trips and Events and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Another Lackluster New Years Day

  1. rarasaur says:

    ” So here’s to making every day of 2014 better than the last.” – Cheers to that! 🙂 Happy 2014!

    • The Cutter says:

      Thanks. BTW, did you really just follow my blog last week?

    • rarasaur says:

      Haha, no…well, yes, recently, but it was a re-follow. When I got hacked, my entire “follow” list was deleted. I still can’t figure out how or why it was done. As far as I know, that’s a tedious one-by-one process. I’m playing massive catch up! I think I’m following 200 blogs now… versus the 3500 before!

    • The Cutter says:

      And I made the cut!….eventually.

    • rarasaur says:

      Haha! You were one of the top 50. I don’t know exactly which order, but I know you went in the bout of those whose domains I have memorized. 🙂

  2. New Years Day always seemed somewhat surreal to me. Maybe it’s because it’s the only day of the year when everyone is in “major holiday mode” (I went out to get lunch at 11 AM this morning, and the city was practically a ghost town), yet there’s absolutely nothing to celebrate. It’s kind of the bizarro holiday on the calendar….

  3. catalina says:

    Happy New Year! Thank you for all your hilarious writing! 🙂

  4. stephrogers says:

    New Years Day is such a crappy day parenting wise. My kids were completely ridiculous. They all went to bed early (thankfully) and woke up feeling semi-ok this morning.

  5. Katie says:

    I’m not a big fan of New Year’s Day either, because the winter holidays are officially over and it’s time to get back to work.

  6. End Kwote says:

    Agreed. I’m not a hugemongous fan of New Years. I actually just wrote about it. Anywho, good post!

  7. Pingback: 42 in Review | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

