Guest Post: Musings of a Dancing Wino

Some of you may recall back in November when I wrote a guest post over at Musings of a Dancing Wino.  It was super epic and all, so I certainly hope that you remember it.

I asked Arden if she’d like to return the favor and supply a guest post here at The Cutter Rambles. Here was the response I received:

I like to think of myself as a reliable person.  People ask me to do things and I in turn proceed to do them in a timely and orderly fashion.  I consider it to be the nice thing to do.  Blame it on my Southern heritage.  So when Cutter asked me back in November to do a guest post for his blog, I jumped at the chance.

1 I was pumped.

That is, until I completely forgot about it.

2
To my credit, he asked me right before NaNoWriMo so my brain was a little scattered.  Still, that’s why they make calendars and phone reminders.  SO YOU DON’T FORGET THINGS!

Needless to say, when Cutter approached me again in December to ask about the post I had completely forgotten about, I felt like a giant sack of unreliable crap.  I had to give him something but what was I to write about?  I didn’t have a clue.  I’d only been pumping out lame posts for the past two weeks on my own blog due to a lack of motivation.  How was I to deliver a post made of solid gold to Cutter?  HOW?

3

I thought I would never think of anything.  I was doomed.  I scrapped post after post until I was drowning in a sea of metaphorical paper.  I would have to send him nothing but eCards and cat pictures to fill the void of my guest post.  I was a failure to the max.

Then suddenly, it came to me!

4

I could just write about something Cutter and I have in common!  That’s it!

5

Hmmmm, something Cutter and I have in common.  Let’s see.  He has a kid!!

Crap.  I don’t.  In fact, at this point in my life, this is how I feel about children:

6

So that wouldn’t work.  The only thing I could talk about regarding kids is how little I know about them.

Before I got down on myself by thinking of my royally screwed future children, I decided to change direction.  This guest post was getting worse and worse by the minute.  I couldn’t think of anything to write about.  The only other thing I really knew about Cutter was that he seemed big into couponing.  I’m the person who glares at the customer in front of them at the grocery store when they pull out said coupons.

7

After a few minutes hours of contemplation, I finally realized I was doomed.  DOOMED, I SAY!

8

I knew I had to go back to Cutter with my tail between my legs and let him know that I failed his request.  I was devastated.

Dear Cutter,

I’m terribly sorry and hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me.  I have failed and it is something I will have to live with for the rest of my life.  You deserved better. The Cutter Rambles deserved better.  If you need me, I’ll be off somewhere, drowning my sorrows with a box of wine.

Sincerely,

Arden, The Dancing Wino, The Failure

9

Naturally I was a bit angry at first, but after seeing a sad puppy dog, it’s hard to stay too mad. What do you guys think? Should I forgive her?

If it helps you decide, you can check out some of the other posts over at her site:

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Guest Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Guest Post: Musings of a Dancing Wino

  1. Jolie Michele says:

    This is one of the most entertaining guest posts I have read in a while. Love it.

  2. ardenrr says:

    Ole! I like this post 🙂 You should totally forgive me. Haha

  3. Pingback: Wino Travels: The Cutter Rambles | Musings of a Dancing Wino

  4. djmatticus says:

    I think you have to forgive her simply because of the “idea kitteh.” That alone was worthy of a post.

  5. Twindaddy says:

    No! This is a grievous offense. She should rot in bloggy hell! After she writes a guest post for me, that is.

  6. This was awesome and her failure was very entertaining! Thus…..she should be forgiven!

  7. Pingback: A Belated Look Back at my Year in Blogging | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

