The Saddest Day of the Year

Today was one of the saddest days of the year: It was the day after the Philadelphia Eagles were eliminated from the playoffs.

The Eagles lost a playoff game to the New Orleans Saints last night.  It shouldn’t have come as a surprise that they lost a playoff game.  This was the 53rd consecutive season in which the team did not win an NFL championship.  Every year of my existence on this planet has seen the Eagles lose in the playoffs…assuming they were even good enough to qualify.

It’s a reminder of how unfulfilling it is to be a sports fan.  Basically, we go into each season knowing that barring near miraculous circumstances, our teams are guaranteed to be eliminated at some point.  It’s just a matter of how painful the end turns out to be.

At least the game was played on Saturday night.  After drinking more than I normally do while watching football, and staying up much later than I would have preferred, it was slight consolation knowing that I didn’t have to wake up early and go to work.

Side note: I thought I was way too excited that Miller brought back their classic can design for their Lite beer, but I’ve found that some of my peers were equally excited about it.  Because if there’s one thing I’m looking for in my light beer, it’s a feeling of nostalgia!

Despite the presence of alcohol in my system, I wasn’t able to get to sleep easily.  I was still worked up over the game, and it didn’t help that I had a weird medley of songs stuck in my head. I’m not entirely sure why, but I had a combination of Awolnation’s “Not Your Fault” and The Transplants “Diamonds and Guns” running through my mind.  (It did seem slightly fitting because the lead singer of Awolnation kind of resembles Eagles’ quarterback Nick Foles.)

I was tossing and turning, and apparently snoring since Mrs. Cutter growled at me to roll over.  Not wanting to draw more of her wrath, I eventually retreated into the spare bedroom where I had a less than restful sleep.  I was hoping that the princesses on the wall might help me relax, but that wasn’t the case.

So yeah, today was sad, but I’ll be over it soon enough.  Life goes on, there’s always next year, and all that kind of crap. Besides, now my Sundays are now free to do other things like…um…well, I’m sure I’ll figure out something productive.

Oh, and because misery loves company, I’ll share the videos for those aforementioned songs so that maybe you can get them stuck in your head as well.  Sweet dreams!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Saddest Day of the Year

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    As a Pittsburgh fan, I congratulate your team for at least getting into the playoffs. Now we can root for whoever. Please pass the beer.

  2. I’m joining you on the couch. My Packers just lost. 😦 At least my house faired better than my sister-in-laws. After her husband’s Bengals lost, he decided to start their bathroom remodel……

  3. Al says:

    From one bummed out Philly fan to another……well said……it gave me a migraine and I was up at 3:00 in the morning taking a hot shower (letting it hit me in the face….it always works to help get rid of the migraine while the meds kick in). If they all stay together for a few years, they’ll be a force to be reckoned with…..keep the faith.

  4. ardenrr says:

    I was rooting for y’all! I’m a Colts fan so that was a crazy game! The Wild Card games as a whole were pretty intense. Too bad the only pick I got right was for my own team!

  5. Pingback: 42 in Review | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

