Guest Post: Rarasaur Debates How Dinosaurs Would Feel About Poultry Consumption

Today is a very special day at The Cutter Rambles.  What’s that?  You said that EVERY day is a special day at The Cutter Rambles?  Well, that’s very kind of you.  And accurate.  But today is going to be even specialer than most.

Why is today so special?  Because I have a special guest poster.  You may know her from her very special blog. (Longtime readers may recall when I wrote a special guest post there!)  She’s poignant, she’s funny, and although I’m not entirely sure, I think she’s actually some sort of special human/dinosaur hybrid.  (Note: I’m not sure why I’m using the word special so much today.)

Unless you’re new to the blogosphere or just a little slow on the uptake, you’ve probably figured out that today’s guest poster is Rara!

As I wrote about my daughter’s turkey dress yesterday, I began to wonder about something.  (Note: This is a bit of a fabrication.  I actually asked Rara this question a couple of weeks ago.  The fact that I’m posting it the day after discussing a turkey dress is merely a happy coincidence.) Since she may or may not be part dinosaur, I figured that Rara would be the perfect person to help me figure it out.

The holiday season often sees humans consume birds such as chicken and turkey for the main part of the meal.  How would dinosaurs react to seeing their descendants treated in such a manner?

I think when someone is asking such hard-hitting questions, you have to be prepared to source your answers straight back to the wisest experts you can dig up.  Since this whole thing is about birds, I decided to consult the smartest Raven I know and come up with seven distinct possible reactions.

Possibility 1 : Yum!

The truth is that larger dinosaurs ate smaller dinosaurs all the live long day.  If a T-rex was intermixed within our cultural community, it’s possible that he’d join us for our feasting.

smores

Possibility 2 : Gross!

I can only imagine that there’s something truly disturbing about watching your great-great-great-great-grandchildren turned into a roasted cultural tradition.  It’s gross on a level that cannot be explained.

nasty

Possibility 3 : How Rude!

If you think you can just mess with a T-Rex ancestor and not anger the beast, well, you are probably entirely wrong.

raveeeen

Possibility 5 : WTF!

I don’t know how I’d react to finding out that my ancestors had become chickens.  No offense to chickens, of course, but I can’t imagine how that conversation would unfold.

youbetripping

Possibility 6 : Ow!

My guess is that we’re probably not designed to consume our own ancestors without a problem.  I’m thinking there’d be swelling and rashes aplenty.

oohno

Possibility 7 : Peace, friends!

I think dinosaurs would have quite a lot to say about this issue, actually.  I have a feeling they’d be peace activists for their feathered friends.  They would write into Better Homes and Gardens and ask why we have to commemorate expressions of world peace and salvation with dead life forms.  They would ask us all to reconsider the necessity of death in our celebratory fair.  They would suggest ask why we feel the need to distinguish ourselves from other life forms with such finality– to the point that we’re unable to see the spectacular beauty of the beasts we’ve slain.

raven-beauty

And that’s a message we could all stand to hear not only during the holiday season, but every day really.

____________________________

You’re all beautiful– but be honest, if you were transported into the future, would you eat your great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandchild if it was part of that culture’s ceremonial celebrations?

Well that was even more special than I could have ever imagined!  Thanks to Rara for sharing.  Make sure to head on over to her place for even more brilliance!

Here are a few highlights:

Unorganized Thoughts on Blog Friendship

Things Pop Culture Ruined for Me

Kind of a Stupid Game

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

87 Responses to Guest Post: Rarasaur Debates How Dinosaurs Would Feel About Poultry Consumption

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    That’s quite the thought to end on, Rara! 😀

  2. The Hook says:

    Rara,
    You refuse to disappoint, don’t you? I can’t wait until your special brand of genius is published on my little blog. The Cutter has been well and truly blessed with your presence.
    Good work, you two!
    But please, no more Raven pics! I’m scarred already!

    • rarasaur says:

      I’ve been blessed to know TheCutter. He’s the leader of the happy-blogging-brigade, and I’m a loyal minion! Who else would let me publish so many Raven-gifs?? 🙂

      I’m excited to make an appearance in the fabulous land of Hook, too! Even though there won’t be any Raven gifs. 😀

    • The Cutter says:

      I am the leader of the happy bloggers now? When did I gain this responsibility?

    • rarasaur says:

      That’s what happens when you wear a cape. People put you in charge of stuff.

  3. End Kwote says:

    These Raven pics are dripping with nostalgia

  4. Well, when you look at chicken eating from this perspective, it’s sort of morbid. I don’t know that I could eat a human ancestor in the future, but at some point, wouldn’t a Brontosaurus or T-rex look at a chicken and be all, “what? How? What? how in the world???” Lol.

  5. That’s the most articulate dinosaur ever!

  6. Twindaddy says:

    I’m curious as to what madness led to this line of thought.

  7. Lance says:

    This post is so Raven

    rawr!

    • rarasaur says:

      I can’t believe it took 6 commentors to get to one who’d make that reference! High five, Lance– for being so-Raven-literate! 😀 RAWR!

  8. djmatticus says:

    I don’t know what to say…
    1st thought – I really shouldn’t take part in the mass murdering of turkeys around the holiday.
    2nd thought – if we traveled into the past, would dinosaurs taste delicious too?

  9. Katie says:

    HA! These Raven pictures kill me.

  10. Pingback: That’s So Rara! | rarasaur

  11. Ned's Blog says:

    To be honest, I would eat my grandchild if they were wrapped in bacon.

    • The Cutter says:

      OR…you could just eat the bacon they were wrapped in and spare the child.

    • Ned's Blog says:

      What’s the old saying?
      “Spare the child spoil the bacon…?”

      No, wait… that’s not right. Anyway, I jest. I can’t want to be a grandparent some day. And the thought of eating a descendent would never cross my mind. Unless I came from a family of pork.

    • rarasaur says:

      I was going to say that I prefer things stuffed with bacon, but in the context of descendents… it’s kinda creepy. So instead, yay for being a grandpa one day! I loved my gramps muchly and was the apple of his eye… and luckily not the apple of his lunch. (Groan-worthy puns? Why not? I did just run with a That’s So Raven post, so…. ;))

    • Ned's Blog says:

      Haha! You see, as soon as you said “apple” I pictured it in the mouth of a pig. I think I may have a bacon fetish. Not that I want to change that…

      And you’re right, “That’s So Raven” set the stage for groanable (I think I just invented a new word) puns. I would’ve been disappointed otherwise 😉

      I really enjoyed this post and am looking forward to catching up on the rest of yours I have cued in my reader this weekend. Probably while eating a bacon sandwich…

  12. I have but one thought: we must all become vegetarians! :-0

  13. Well, since I have no offspring and will never have a great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandchild, the final question is a moot point for me. But, if this theoretical descendant were burnt the way I like most of my meat, I probably wouldn’t know what it was or care if I did know what it was. Can someone pass the pepper for my char-broiled grandchild, please? 🙂

    • The Cutter says:

      But what if it was a squirrel???

    • Oooooh, you got me there. Yeah, I might push that plate back and excuse myself from the table…

    • rarasaur says:

      I don’t have offspring either, but in this scenario– it’d be very Planet of the Apes. It’s less about sharing blood with the victim, and more about sharing a species. Of course, seeing the similarity in all animal life is very much the basis of most vegetarian or vegan philosophies… and obviously that doesn’t sway the world. In other words– poor squirrels.

  14. This post made me glad to be vegetarian, for some reason. NO, I would not be able to stomach eating my great great great great ancestor of any kind no matter the amount of peer pressure thrust upon me.

    This was the most random and creative post I’ve read today. I thoroughly enjoyed it. 🙂

    Rara rocks!

    Now I’m off to read about your daughters turkey dress!

    Happy new year!
    Lindsey

    • rarasaur says:

      Thanks for reading, Lindsey! I’d be impressed if anyone could beat the randomness of this, and super interested in reading that post.

      Oooh, I’m sensing a challenge on the horizon… 🙂

  15. JackieP says:

    Well, I just don’t know what to say. I’m stumped. I might eat my great, great , great, etc if I had any, which I won’t. So moot point with me. It’s just all crazy talk! No way could we the rara’s of the world! or any kin. 😉

  16. Alison says:

    Brilliant as usual Rara – perhaps even more special than usual 🙂
    😦 Like button not loading – slow internet
    xoxox

  17. benzeknees says:

    What if vegetables have feelings too?

  18. Daile says:

    Yes I would eat my great-great-great-great-great grandchild etc. In fact this post is making me hungry…

    Ps. how good is Raven! (and Rara of course – goes without saying. Duh)

  19. stephrogers says:

    Love Raven! I especially love her since she’s recently come out. After reading your post, and taking a little journey into your mind, I am convinced we should all be vegetarian.

  20. rarasaur says:

    🙂 I’m not vegetarian (anymore), but I have removed the cultural slaying of animals from my diet. Not that I judge people who haven’t, but once the idea settles in your mind, you start asking yourself– do I *want* to eat this animal, or am I doing it because someone told me to? 🙂

    & hurrah for Raven! I’ve always loved her for her internal strength!

  21. Maybe we’re all related to chickens and have been eating our 25 times grandchildren already. 😉

  22. RAAAAVVVEEEEEEENNNNNNNNNN!!!!

    I can’t even. This was heartily needed this morning.

  23. RituKT says:

    A dinosaur with a sense of humour. The Raven gifs are so entertaining, I have read this post twice already! Reading your posts makes my day, Rara!

  24. Well there you go: a comprehensive list of the thoughts of dinos on human consumption of birds.

  25. Pingback: I’m Off to Fly a Kite | rarasaur

  26. Pingback: A Belated Look Back at my Year in Blogging | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

