Finding My Voice

One of my goals in life is to improve as a writer.  Believe it or not, I feel I have gotten better over the years (Seriously, check out some of my posts from 2008!), but I know I still have a good deal of room to grow.  I’ve read a decent amount of advice on how to become a better writer, and while the advice can vary depending on the source, one message is consistent: A good writer needs to always express his voice.

Perhaps all I need is a little coaching from Adam Levine.  (Image source)

Perhaps all I need is a little coaching from Adam Levine. (Image source)

Despite my efforts to improve, I feel I can be very hit-or-miss with this.  Sometimes, I’ll re-read a post and feel that my personality has indeed shone through. Other times, I’ll be left dissatisfied.  Sure, I may have gotten the point across, but it didn’t feel like I “owned” it.

I seem to have the most trouble when I’m trying to describe actual events that have transpired. I struggle with walking the fine line between giving people enough information and overwhelming them with non-crucial details.

Sometimes the writing becomes a bit bogged down, and it ends up reading like a textbook. In those cases, I fail to convey why the incident or event was worth re-telling in the first place.  (Perhaps in some instances, the basic problem was that the incident wasn’t in fact worth re-telling.)

I suppose it’s a good thing that I don’t feel satisfied, because no writer is perfect.  (Even Stephenie Meyer?  Especially Stephenie Meyer!) If I ever become satisfied with everything I produce, then it’s probably a sign that I’m not trying as hard as I once did.

I do have some ideas as to how I can improve, and I plan to implement them here over the coming days. Hopefully it will result in posts that are both more fun to write and more fun to read.  That should be a good thing for all of us!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Finding My Voice

  1. List of X says:

    I think that describing the incidents that aren’t worth describing may be a much more effective writing practice than writing about something that’s easy to write.

  2. stephrogers says:

    I am always trying to improve my writing. Some things I write and think are awesome nobody reads. Other things I think are not so great have created huge stats spikes. I always just try to write from the heart. I think your writing is awesome. I am looking forward to seeing it blossom into awesome(er)? things (by the way, I’m so cool I get to make my own words up now. Don’t hate the player…).

  3. NotAPunkRocker says:

    That is one of my goals (NOT resolution) for this year. Eventually I will get to it LOL

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

  4. I have some of the very same struggles. I think it’s important that we always work to improve. I’m with you on this. And the more we do it (with improvements in mind), the better we’ll get.

  5. The Hook says:

    If you cease to be a work-in-progress you should start worrying, buddy.
    Until then, you’re good.

Got Something to Say?

