To the Future!

Today’s Daily Prompt asks: If you could fast forward to as specific date in the future, when would it be?

While I’ve had some experience with travelling back in time, I have never been so (un?)fortunate as to travel to the future.

I’m actually somewhat curious as to how this would work.  If I travelled into the future, wouldn’t I arrive in a future in which I had been missing the entire time? But if I was missing, that would obviously not be representative of how the future would have turned out had I been there the whole time.  Through the mere act of travelling into the future, I would have ended up changing it.

There is a HUGE inconsistency in this regard in the Back to the Future movies.  (Yes, I realize that when you have a movie about time travel, it pretty much guarantees that there are going to be plot holes and inconsistencies.) When Doc does his first test of the DeLorean, he sends Einstein into the future. Einstein vanishes, only to reappear in the same location one minute later.  So in the sequel, when Doc, Marty, and Jennifer travel into the future, why haven’t they been missing for that entire time?

Great Scott! (Image source)

Great Scott! (Image source)

Of course, that question is actually irrelevant, because the prompt said “fast forwarding” not “skipping.”  Fast forwarding implies that I wouldn’t jump ahead, I’d just proceed through my life much faster than usual.

I can say that there is no specific date that I would want to fast forward to. I mean sure, it might be tempting to skip through the rest of winter.  We’ve got the lousy sports months ahead of us, and it would be nice to have actual things for my daughter to do on the weekend.  But I wouldn’t actually do that.

As a father, I’ve found that life is moving plenty fast as is.  Do I really need to rush things along? Nope, I think I’ll continue to take things one day at a time and let the future come as it will.

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture, Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to To the Future!

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Time already flies. What’s the big rush?

  2. Squinty says:

    It’s because they all, except Einstein, return to the exact time they left, so it’s as though they never left. You’re not thinking 4th dimensionally.

  3. Pingback: Fast forward | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Squinty says:

    But that wasn’t the 1985 they left. Biff went back to 1955and gave himself the Grays Sports Almanac. Marty, Did, and Jennifer went back to alternate 1985, where did was committed and who knows about Jennifer. Marty was supposed to be in Switzerland so theoretically he was still there and no one missed him. Same with Jennifer.

  5. Squinty says:

    Technically, the alternate 1985 group never went into the future so there were 2 of each person when they returned.

  6. stephrogers says:

    Ok , on the time travel…I had never thought of that! My God! You’re right! I’d have been missing the entire time and so I wouldn’t be in the future. Of course! It’s like learning the world is round not flat.

    As for fast forwarding, no thanks. It’s already going too fast. I would love to be able to freeze the whole world except myself. I could then spend time doing ALL the things I never get done while everything and everyone was just on pause.

  7. Carpe Diem! 🙂 Live for the here and now, hope for the future.

  8. Pingback: Fast Forward | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fast Forward | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: A future without chronic illness | Daily Prompt: Fast Forward | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  11. Pingback: The only reason we should be concerned about nuclear warfare | Rob's Surf Report

  12. djmatticus says:

    Good choice. I think that would be my answer too.

  13. Delilah says:

    Mind Blown!

  14. Pingback: Five Ways To Help Your Local Time Traveler | The L. Palmer Chronicles

Got Something to Say?

