I Didn’t Write a New Post Yesterday

For 42 consecutive days, I (or at least somebody) had written a new post at The Cutter Rambles.  It began on December 1st when I started upon my annual 31 Days of Blogging tradition, and didn’t stop until almost halfway through January.

Physicists and financial planners will tell you that momentum is a powerful force, and I’m now a believer as well.  At first, the thought of writing something every day seemed imposing.  Then, I found my rhythm, and things got much easier. Writing a blog post soon became part of my daily routine.

31DaysOfBlogging

So then why didn’t I post anything yesterday?

I’d like to claim that I stopped after 42 consecutive days as a tribute to my favorite book: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Unfortunately, that would be a lie, as I didn’t even realize that the tally was at 42 until just now.  (For you baseball fans out there, it was also not a tribute to either Jackie Robinson or Mariano Rivera.)

I’d like to say that yesterday’s sunny skies and relatively mild temperatures kept me away from the computer, but that wasn’t the case either.  While we did take advantage of the rare nice weather, I was still left with ample time to write something, and for most of the day, I assumed that I eventually would.

After the Cutlet was put to bed, I had some time to myself.  I headed into the basement and popped in my latest DVD from Netflix: A Very Harold and Kumar 3D Christmas.

It's a holiday classic, yo! (Image source)

It’s a holiday classic, yo! (Image source)

You may be questioning my choice of movies.  I originally received the disc before Christmas, and thought it would be a fun holiday classic that Mrs. Cutter and I could watch together.  As it turned out, December didn’t leave me much free time for movie watching, and Mrs. Cutter had zero interest in watching it.  Apparently she’d rather watch the Golden Globes for some reason.

What are the Golden Globes anyway?  Aren’t they just kind of the “poor man’s Oscars?”

While I was watching the movie (which I can only assume was not well represented at the Golden Globes), I had my computer in front of me.  I thought about writing something.  I went as far as to open up WordPress in a browser.

But I didn’t write anything.  I just couldn’t work up the necessary mental energy.  Keep in mind what movie I was watching.  If I wanted to use any mental energy, I probably would have gone for something a little more intellectual.

So I shut down the computer.  I knew that my consecutive days streak would come to an end at some point, and yesterday seemed as good a day as any.  I figured that we’re all entitled to a break every now and then.  I mean, if the book of Genesis is to believed, even God took a break after a particularly taxing week of work.

I realize that some of you The Cutter Rambles junkies may be a bit concerned.  You may not know what to do now that you can’t count on getting your daily fix.

I don’t want you to worry too much.  I’ve got not one – but TWO – guest posters scheduled for later this week, and I think you’ll enjoy those posts immensely.  And if you don’t like them, that’s fine too, because it will just cause you to appreciate my stuff that much more!

At some point, I’ll take a look back on those 42 days, and give a review of how the month-plus of consecutive posting went.  I can’t promise exactly when that will be though.  Maybe it will be on Wednesday; maybe it will be on Friday; or maybe, as a way to really shake things up, I’ll wait until June.  (Because if there’s one thing that people enjoy, it’s retrospectives that come long after everyone has stopped caring!)

Anyway, I enjoyed yesterday’s day off, but break time is over.  Time to get back to work!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture, Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I Didn’t Write a New Post Yesterday

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Welcome back!

  2. List of X says:

    You don’t have to apologize. You already posted as many post in that streak than I did in all of 2013.

  3. Twindaddy says:

    The withdrawal nearly killed me. Don’t EVER do that again.

  4. End Kwote says:

    Everyone was drunk at the Golden Globes. And Andy Samberg won entirely too many awards for being an idiot. So yes, they’re the poor man’s Oscars

  5. wahmcat says:

    Wow 42 in a row?! I should try to be so cool…. I don’t think it’s likely… but maybe I should give it a try… Hmmm.

  6. ~meredith says:

    I think it’s cool that you both made the push, and that you can sit back. Momentum is a tricky thing, and sometimes I think I’m just trotting along at a nice canter, and the next thing I know I’m running as fast as I can, trying to right myself before I do a faceplant. Learning stillness is as much a part of writing as writing, itself, but wow… who knew?

    Enjoy the stillness.

Got Something to Say?

