With our Blogging Powers Combined…

So apparently, even in the world of blogging, I’m not cool.  (Please try not to gasp too loudly.)

419px-Henry_Winkler_Fonzie_1977

Yes, it’s 2014, and I still associate Fonzie with coolness. (Image source)

I’ve learned that the blogosphere can function like any other social environment. Some blogs will inevitably become more popular than others, cliques will take shape, and a division will form between the “cool” bloggers and the rest. In recent weeks, there has been talk about being a member of the “it” group on WordPress, and how some bloggers, for one reason or another (although according to most people, it was one reason in particular), were not included in that group.

No matter what kind of social interaction it is, I think many of us have some desire to be a member of the popular crowd.  Sure, we may stand off to the side, and outwardly embrace our status as outsiders, but I think that deep down, most people would like to be acknowledged as one of the alphas of the world.  At the very least, I think we’d like to be accepted by the alphas as being part of the group.

There have been times when I have felt that I was definitely not a part of the cool group on WordPress. I decided that if I couldn’t be part of the in crowd, then I was going to form my own clique.  I planned to team up with other bloggers whose sites I enjoy reading and together we would become greater than the sum of our parts or something like that. Honestly, I wasn’t entirely sure what this group would do, but I was fully confident that it would be awesome.

I contacted a couple of people, and if you were one of them, you might have wondered why I failed to follow up.  (This assumes that you ever gave it a second thought.) I can assure you that laziness and disinterest were only a minor reason for my lack of follow through. As I considered who I wanted to join me in this alliance, I realized that I didn’t want to exclude anyone.  If my group excluded people, then it would kind of defeat the whole purpose of forming it. I knew that if I asked ten people to join me, there would be an eleventh who would have made an equally good choice, and might feel somewhat offended that I didn’t ask them.

So instead of making a potentially hurtful decision, I’m going to leave it up to those of you who happen to read this post.  Consider this to be your official invitation to join the Blogging Alliance of the Damned! (I’m really not married to that name.  So perhaps our first act could be coming up with a new name.)

Do you feel like your blog has been overlooked at times?  Do you feel that there is power in numbers? Do you want to engage in semi-meaningful exchanges with other bloggers?

Then join me and other bloggers yet to be determined as we team up and do the following:

Seriously, is Slash cool anymore? (Image source)

Seriously, is Slash cool anymore? (Image source)

  • Hold bi-weekly group discussions about the “hot topics” of the day or anything else that may interest us. (Honestly, we’ll probably just end up discussing Justin Bieber half the time.)
  • Troll the blogs of people we don’t like and leave hurtful comments.
  • Slander other bloggers by spreading malicious rumors.
  • Debate whether or not Slash is cool anymore.
  • Share pictures of ourselves wearing animal costumes.

*Note: We will only actually do the first one.  Although the last could be very amusing.

If you’re at least mildly interested in this concept, I’ve provided a fancy form for you to fill out.  If you’re not interested, that’s fine too.  But be warned: You’ll probably be the first to be slandered.  (Just kidding, we’re gonna be nice.  Probably.)

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to With our Blogging Powers Combined…

  1. ~meredith says:

    Well, this is too funny to wonder about, so I won’t ever know if it’s cool or uncool to be part of the group. I still use ‘cool’ in my posts, so I imagine that’s already cut me from 2/3 the list of up and coming writers.

    Want some tea, instead?

  2. ~meredith says:

    😉

  3. Twindaddy says:

    I blog cause I like it. If you read, great. If not…eh. Quite frankly I’m tired of social cliques and circles. I realize this is (I think) a satirical piece, but the way some things have transpired lately have left me…blah.

    • The Cutter says:

      I understand why you’d feel a little jaded about cliques and groups.

      While some of this was definitely satirical, I am sincere in wanting to form a group just because group activities can be fun.

      And as I said, all are welcome, and it is not required to kiss my ass or anything. (Although if anyone wants to compliment my hair, they are free to do so)

    • Twindaddy says:

      Nice hair.

    • The Cutter says:

      You think so? I thought it was kind of a mess this morning, but I do appreciate the compliment!

    • Twindaddy says:

      Bed head is just….well, I’ll just stop myself now.

  4. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I think I will just watch from the sidelines, like I usually do, but as long as Slash has the hat then he is cool with me.

  5. Ooooh oooh I wanna troll and slander! Uh, um, I mean discuss Justin Bieber. Honestly, I don’t know, things are really weird right now.

  6. I enjoy a good slandering in the morning. Oh, and it isn’t a costume… this is real fur, dammit! Can I have a booster seat at the cool table?

  7. List of X says:

    Well, I think you are already cooler than me, because this is the first I hear about this “It” group.

    Oh, and if you’re looking for a place for discussion, I can just suggest this place: http://pouringmyartout.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/this-is-not-a-post-about-this-post-this-is-about-breaking-a-record/
    The blogger is trying to set a comment record, and he will happily welcome anyone and any discussion topic, no matter how serious or silly.

  8. This is literally the 4th or 5th blog post I’ve read over the past week referencing this “it” blogger and the big talk on WordPress about them. Well slap me and call me silly, but I am completely in the dark. I have no idea who everyone is talking about.

    While I’ve noticed that I tend to bump into different “circles” on WordPress (i.e. – funny, sarcastic bloggers like you, Ben’s Bitter Blog, Sass & Balderdash, etc.), I haven’t really found any big cliques in WP. I’m probably just a loser on the sidelines, completely oblivious to the social media frenzy going on around WP, haha.

    Good luck to you with your Blogging Alliance of the Damned… that sounds rad!

    • The Cutter says:

      I don’t want to get into the “it” blogger, but if you’re curious, I’ll send you a message on the Twitter.

      And it assuredly will be rad, which is why you should join up.

  9. I would guess the “it” blogger is Matt Walsh, but there are others that meet the standard too.

  10. djmatticus says:

    I refuse to wear animal costumes. And I refuse to talk about Justin Beiber. Everything else sounds good though.

  11. MissFourEyes says:

    Are you sure you want to restrict the costumes to just animals, we could try so many things! Justin Beiber though, okay, but only if we absolutely have to. I’m in!

  12. “I don’t want to belong to any club that will accept me as a member.”
    Just kidding. I’m desperate to belong.

  13. mistyslaws says:

    Obviously, I can’t be part of the group, because I can’t even read directions right! I thought I was commenting, above, but apparently that was the “form” you were referring to? Yeah, now I know why I don’t have any friends, I guess.

  14. Dammit The Fonz IS still cool! Anyone who says otherwise can go sit on it! 😉

  15. Define “cool”. Because if it involves not giving a shit about cliques and just being your bloggy self and writing posts about embarrassing things like my chin hairs and Justin Bieber’s lack of chin hairs, I am totally in then.

  16. Pingback: Introducing…The Blogging Alliance of the Damned! | The Cutter Rambles

  17. Pingback: And I don’t need no carrying on | The Cutter Rambles

  18. Pingback: A Belated Look Back at my Year in Blogging | The Cutter Rambles

  19. Pingback: waiting on happily ever after | that cynking feeling

Got Something to Say?

