Bad Hair Day

I didn’t exactly comb my hair this morning.  On a scale of one to ten, with one being, “I’m not even going to look at it and hope for the best,” and ten being, “I’ll spend an hour making it looking exquisite,” I’d rank this morning’s effort at about a three.

I don't even own a brush! (Image source)

I don’t even own a brush! (Image source)

I tried to get it somewhat under control before leaving the house, only to realize that the work was going to be undone as soon as I put on my winter hat. I’m remembering why my philosophy used to be to keep my hair shorter in the winter and longer in the summer. (It’s mostly because I look better in visors when my hair is longer.)

Once I got to the office, I did the old, “flip my iPhone’s camera around and check out how I look” trick, but I soon realized that getting my hair to look good was going to take more work than just haphazardly trying to flatten and comb parts of it with my hand.  So I basically just gave up and said, “Screw it. Co-workers get to look at messy hair today.”

I feel I somewhat compensated by tucking in my shirt.  This was a huge sacrifice because I really hate tucking in my shirt.  I don’t know how people stand having all that material crammed down their pants.  I got enough going on down there!

Unfortunately, in my office’s business casual environment, I feel that it is sometimes necessary to tuck in order to avoid looking too slovenly.  Not that anyone has ever said anything to me, but it sometimes feels like my everyday attire is equivalent to most people’s “casual Friday” attire.  Oh well, let them be all uncomfortable in their fancy shirts and ties.

To avoid this problem going forward, I should probably get my hair cut. I haven’t done so since Thanksgiving, which doesn’t seem like that long ago, but it’s been over two months now.  That’s nothing new for me, as I seem to always go a bit too long between haircuts.  I’ll reach the “Oh, I could probably use a haircut” point, and then procrastinate until I either reach “I REALLY need a haircut” status or I’m faced with an occasion when I don’t want to look awful.

Maybe I’ll try to go during my lunch break tomorrow, but I usually spend that time either going to the gym or watching mildly entertaining videos on the internet.  (Which is basically why I go so long between hair cuts.)

Since this has been a fairly pointless post, I’ll leave you with one of those aforementioned time-killing videos.  Enjoy!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bad Hair Day

  1. for me, a 3 is a good hair day!

  2. djmatticus says:

    Get a haircut and get a real job… something something and don’t be a slob.
    I guess I could have looked up the right words to the song, but lazy. So, you get what you get.
    😛

  3. You seem to take the same approach to haircuts as I do. I’m pretty much looking like a shaggy squirrel by the time I finally relent and get it cut…

    On the rare, rare, rare, very rare occasions I am forced to dress in something other than jeans and a regular shirt, I too absolutely despise cramming half the shirt down my pants in an effort to “look nice”. I’ve never understood why people want to dress so uncomfortably for anything, but I’ve never been one for appearances either…

  4. joynpain2 says:

    I also go way too long between hair cuts. At least when you do get it cut, people can actually tell you’ve had it cut. I’ve never understood how people can get their hair cut like every week. I mean really?

  5. The Hook says:

    I’m sporting the military cut these days, so bad hair days are a thing of the past.
    Great post though, Cutter.

  6. i did kindergarten instead of nautical for you yesterday.

  7. mistyslaws says:

    GET A HAIRCUT, YA DAMN HIPPIE!!

    I get a haircut about every 6 months. It’s either shoulder length or short pixie cut. When it approaches shoulder length, I know it’s time to go get it chopped back to pixie. I am very high maintenance, as you can tell.

Got Something to Say?

