Why I am Outraged by the Cheerios Commercial

After reading a post over at the Dancing Wino yesterday, I felt I had to share that like many Americans, I was outraged by one of the ads that appeared during the Super Bowl.

While it seems that most of ‘Murica’s anger is directed at the multilingual Coca-Cola ad, I took more offense at the commercial for Cheerios.  For those of you who may have missed it, thankfully we live in an age where YouTube has been invented:

If you recall, this wasn’t the first appearance that this family has made in a Cheerios commercial.  Here was their original ad from last year:

Many people expressed outrage at the first commercial.  I was a little uncertain how I felt about it, and I wasn’t especially pleased, but I wasn’t angered enough to make a big stink. After viewing this second commercial, I am now quite certain how I feel – and I don’t like it one bit.

It’s very clear that Cheerios is trying to send a message here, and it’s a message that I don’t agree with. They’re trying to push their vision of what a family is, and the main focus seems to be this: In a modern family, fathers are lazy pushovers.

Re-watch the first commercial, and you’ll see that the mother is busy working at the kitchen table.  Where’s Dad?  Asleep on the couch!

In the second one, the father tries to deliver happy, yet potentially stressful news to his daughter, but he is unable to do so without giving in to her demand to get a new puppy. And check out the look on Mom’s face.  She’s clearly not happy because – LIKE ALWAYS – she’s going to have to clean up the mess that the incompetent father caused.

Cheerios is obviously saying that mothers do all the work while fathers are lazy and can’t be trusted to do any of the child raising. What’s next?  A commercial where Mom is hard at work tending to the new baby while Dad is sitting on the couch watching football?  Or maybe Mom can be doing some yard work while Dad is out grabbing beers with his friends?

I’ve had enough.  I’m not going to sit by and let Cheerios push their family values on us like that.  I’ll have you know that the father in that commercial doesn’t represent me. I’m not lazy.  I’m not a pushover. I rarely get a chance to just fall asleep on the couch.  And if I ever have the opportunity to inform my daughter that she’s going to have a baby brother, I am pretty sure that I won’t give in to any demands for a new family pet.

So bad news, Cheerios: You can take your little message and stick it. You’ve just lost yourself a customer.

No more of this in the Cutter household. (Image source)

No more of this in the Cutter household. (Image source)

Well, honestly, they probably haven’t.  The next time I see Cheerios on sale at the supermarket, I’ll more than likely end up buying some.  I mean, outrage comes and outrage goes, but Cheerios?  Heck, I’ve been eating them my entire life!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Why I am Outraged by the Cheerios Commercial

  1. lula avila says:

    ahahhaha Cheerios secret agenda, i bet the president of the company is a man!

  2. Trent Lewin says:

    This is a good point, my friend, but men are pushovers when it comes to kids. I think the bigger problem is the the portrayal of a multi-racial family as being the norm… seriously, Cheerios, stop trying to reflect modern society in a positive way!

  3. List of X says:

    Doesn’t that last paragraph kind of make you a pushover when it comes to Safeway’s sales? 🙂

  4. NotAPunkRocker says:

    At least it’s regular Cheerios. I would hate to boycott Honey Nut Cheerios, I like the honeybee.

  5. Hahahaha, I don’t ever eat Cheerios as they aren’t sugary enough for my liking, but I like your observations! I don’t ever get to nap either, and I wouldn’t think of making a decision like let’s get a puppy without the wife’s ok! Such nonsense in these ads is detrimental to dads everywhere.

  6. goldfish says:

    I was about to be all pissed at you for being outraged.

  7. Sarah Brekke says:

    I think the commercials are cute and I don’t see the father as a lazy pushover, but that’s just me I guess. And I think the mother’s face to the news of the puppy was more surprise that he agreed vs any real outrage, but that’s all up to interpretation. And like Goldfish, I was concerned about what I was going to read when I clicked your post. Thank God it wasn’t what I thought. 😉

  8. ardenrr says:

    Haha glad you posted this! I laughed so hard when I first read this in my comments! 🙂

  9. …and in commercial #3, we’ll see how a spoiled Gracie decided to push her luck and, while she and Daddy are sharing a bland bowl of Cheerio at the table, a six-months-pregnant Mom is laboring away in the backyard, tending to Gracie’s two new ponies.

  10. djmatticus says:

    Yum, cheerios!!
    Oh, and yeah, dad’s aren’t lazy. Completely agree. But, I might be biased with my opinion.

  11. I dunno, there must still be a lot of guys who do squat with their children. I was shocked at the number of people who were so amazed that my husband changed diapers. Like, uh, is there some reason why he wouldn’t? I don’t get it.

    Maybe the dude was laying on the couch because he’d just gotten home from work and he was freaking tired?

  12. Cheerios needs a mascot who acts like a jerk like all the other cereals do, then it wouldn’t draw so much outrage from its commercials…

  13. THE BE BUILT BLOG says:

    You know, I thought I was the only one who noticed that too!!!
    I sensed the same message being conveyed. Not okay! Cute commerical, but not okay.

  14. mistyslaws says:

    I don’t know, I kind of like the message. I mean, DON’T we do all the work? 😉

    I’ll just buy extra Cheerios to make up for any protesters.

  15. Pingback: A Belated Look Back at my Year in Blogging | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

