And That’s When The Ideas Come

Some of you may have noticed a decrease in the number of posts here lately. There are a few reasons for that, but the biggest one is that I’ve encountered a bit of a creative slump.

Even Pete Rose was susceptible to the occasional slump. (Image source)

Even Pete Rose was susceptible to the occasional slump. (Image source)

I suppose even the best of us have to deal with the occasional slump. And honestly, it was probably bound to happen at some point. After all, it was only a few months ago that I wrote something on 42 consecutive days. It’s difficult to sustain that kind of output for an entire year.

It doesn’t help that I’ve been feeling some stress in various aspects of my life, and it may have taken a toll on my motivation. What little energy I had left was spent coordinating an alliance of bloggers and working hard on my Phillies blog (You know, the one I get paid for).

Over the past week, I tried writing a couple of posts, but I didn’t get very far. I typed a bunch of words, but I soon realized that they were essentially just that: Words. There wasn’t much juice behind them. Not possessing the necessary energy to revise what I had written, I gave up, and thus a couple more posts were added to my ever-increasing Drafts folder.

Sadly, I don't look quite this adorable when I sleep. (Image source)

Sadly, I don’t look quite this adorable when I sleep. (Image source)

That all changed at 4:30 AM on Saturday when I woke up with a flood of ideas pouring into my head. Suddenly, I could think of nothing BUT ideas for blog posts.

While I appreciated the burst of inspiration, I was less than pleased with the timing, since these ideas were preventing me from getting back to sleep. I was tempted to get up and start pounding away at the keyboard since I didn’t know how long the burst of inspiration would last.

Eventually, I was able to ignore my brain and get back to a restless sleep. This was ended by the cries of the Cutlet who apparently decided that we had slept for too long and it was time to interact with her.

Of course I then felt exhausted and without much inspiration to write. Maybe that’s just as well since with the Cutlet demanding my attention, I didn’t have much opportunity to write anything anyway.

But don’t worry, I have a few ideas in mind for future posts, and I the next couple of weeks should prove to be much more prolific.

How about you guys? Do you ever hit slumps with your writing? If so, what do you do to get yourself back on track?

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in Randomness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to And That’s When The Ideas Come

  1. Tritrigirl says:

    I felt like I was in a slump last week. I think part of the issue was that I’d been so tired over the past week and it’s hard to have to say or share when you’re exhausted. I had to kinda regroup internally and was able to start writing again this week.

  2. Yeah, sometimes I feel like I gave at the office, creativity-wise. Sometimes I just ride it out and remind myself that this, too, shall pass. Other times, I sit down and make myself write something, even if I just hold it in my drafts folder and it never sees the light of day. I feel your pain!

  3. you can always write about hamantaschen, or funny things the little cutlet does.

  4. End Kwote says:

    I definitely get slumps. This may sound weird, but taking a shower helps me sometimes. I have no idea why. Might have something to do with being naked for prolonged periods of time.

  5. mistyslaws says:

    I go in and out of the slumps all the time. Sometimes I have a million brilliant ideas swirling around in my noggin and just not enough time to write all of them, and at other times . . . nada. Vast wasteland of emptiness. It ebbs and flows. Pretty much the only thing I can do is be patient. You can’t force it to happen. It will come back.

  6. djmatticus says:

    Usually when I get into a slump I write anyways and the words, while not my best perhaps, eventually come.
    Last week was a different kind of slump. I had the ideas. I had the time to write. I just didn’t feel like it. I still posted a bunch of stuff, but none of it was what I would normally do. But, I’m back to myself this week. Sort of… It’s only Tuesday I guess, there’s plenty of time for the week to go either direction.

  7. One of the reasons I joined the Alliance was to combat my slumps. I know one cause is self-censoring. I’ve decided there are some topics/aspects of my life that I won’t share on my blog. When those things are all I can think about, I have no mental space for writing about anything else.

  8. Trent Lewin says:

    I get out of slumps by drinking. Alcohol. I don’t recommend this to anyone, though.

    Where is the Phillies blog? Tell me tell me tell me. I am the biggest baseball fan in Canada.

  9. maurnas says:

    I wish I had more time to write. I get so many ideas I have to keep a list.

  10. MissFourEyes says:

    All the time. Usually reading a good book or enough blog posts does the trick. For a really bad slump, I just let it pass. When the words aren’t coming to me, they’re just not.

  11. Yes, all the time. I hit a huge one in November and December and didn’t get back at it until mid – January. I was worrying too much about posting every 3 or 4 days. Now I post when inspired. Might be 5 days apart, might be 2 weeks, but I had to stop stressing. No worries. Sometimes the break is good for you!

Got Something to Say?

