So we bought a minivan

After learning that we would soon have three children living in our house, Mrs. Cutter and I realized our lives were about to change.

We knew that major adjustments would have to be made, and we weren’t exactly thrilled about some of them. One of the most distressing moments of my life was when I realized we would soon fall below a 1:1 person-to-bathroom ratio.

I'll be needing a couple more of these soon. (Image source)

I’ll be needing a couple more of these soon. (Image source)

Mrs. Cutter dealt with this better than I did for the most part. But she nearly lost it when she realized that we’d need to trade in one of our cars and purchase a minivan.

To her, driving a minivan is the ultimate surrender of whatever coolness we might have once possessed For me, that act of surrender came a few years ago when I traded in my convertible for a CR-V. The CR-V has served as somewhat of a gateway van, making this transition much easier to handle.

She tried to find a way to make the CR-V still work, but no amount of hoping and wishing could make three car seats fit in the backseat. Like it or not, we would soon be minivan owners.

We narrowed our purchasing choices down to the Toyota Sienna and the Honda Odyssey. We test drove them both, and either would have worked, but we finally settled on the Odyssey. The deciding factor was that the Odyssey was more accommodating for three car seats, but it didn’t hurt that we really liked the Honda dealer.

If you’re in Maryland and want to buy a Honda, we recommend seeing David Tran at Criswell Honda. He was friendly, patient, and unlike the Toyota dealer, he didn’t call us at 9:30 in the morning asking when we’d be stopping by. I’ve had bad experiences with car dealers in the past, so dealing with David was a refreshing change of pace.

Although after watching this video, I’m a bit worried that we should have gone with the Toyota Sienna. It is apparently the much cooler vehicle:

Her parents might not have been all that thrilled about getting a minivan, but the Cutlet was ecstatic. When we pulled into the driveway with our new ride, her eyes lit up in delight.

“Yaaaaaay!” she squealed with glee before insisting on taking an immediate ride. She was disappointed when Mrs. Cutter drove her to school on Monday morning because it meant that she wouldn’t get to ride in it.

I guess I can understand the appeal. She’s got a lot of space in the backseat (Don’t get used to it, kid), and she gets to open and close the automatic doors by herself. To a three-year old, a car like that is about the coolest thing there is.

So in just a few short years, I’ve gone from cruising around in my convertible to trying to squeeze my van into parking spots that seem increasingly smaller. (Seriously, I’m having a hell of a time parking this thing.) But that’s what parenthood will do to you.

Nobody said we got to remain cool forever, right?

At least I’ll be able to transport my family around in comfort. Now all I need to do is to install another toilet in our home, and then I’ll be set!

Behold the ultimate in cool vehicles: The Honda Odyssey! (Image source)

Behold the ultimate in cool vehicles: The Honda Odyssey! (Image source)

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in The Cutlet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to So we bought a minivan

  1. E. says:

    Kids are a few years down the road for me yet, but I can already say I don’t much care for the idea of trading my Suzuki in for a “[insert kid’s sport here] mom” car.
    But, after growing up with parents who had a minivan, I can say that yes, a car like that IS the coolest thing to a kid — up until about age 7.

  2. I’m at the opposite end of this journey. As hard as it was to break down and get a mini-van, saying goodbye to it was just as difficult. We’re done hauling a carload of little kids everywhere. One leaves for college in a year and has her own car, and we’re down to a single booster seat. They grow up. Sometimes it’s sad.

    • The Cutter says:

      Well great. I always thought it would be a happy day when I finally drove a convertible again. You mean, I’m going to be sad when it happens now?

  3. djmatticus says:

    Ouch.
    Sorry. I’m not looking forward to having to get a minivan at some point down the road… Though, if The Queen and I decide not to have any more kids perhaps I’ll never have to.

    • The Cutter says:

      Perhaps. But once that one kid starts playing soccer and the like and you gotta haul around a bunch of stuff…

    • djmatticus says:

      Oh, I know. That’s why we got a Subaru (Forrester). But, I still got to keep my pickup truck… for now… though, he’ll never get to ride in it, which is very sad for some reason.

    • The Cutter says:

      You should be set then. Why won’t he ever get to ride in the pickup?

    • djmatticus says:

      It’s just a two door pickup, and with the newest laws regarding child seats and how tall they have to be and how much they have to weigh before they can be forward facing and in a front seat (with an airbag)… it’s unlikely the truck will still be around. (It’s a ’96 with 230,000 miles on it.)

    • The Cutter says:

      I see. And wow, that truck certainly doesn’t owe you anything.

    • djmatticus says:

      It has been a good truck, true. I’ve had it since ’99. Got it with only 10,500 miles on it. Apparently I drive a lot.

  4. I enjoy the 1:1 person to bathroom ratio I have here, opposed to the 7:1 ratio I somehow survived growing up with…

    I miss station wagons. Every kid should get to experience the thrill of riding backwards down the road…

  5. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I bet you can get some flame decals and awesome rims for the minivan. That would have been my decision if I ever got to that point 🙂

    • The Cutter says:

      We have debated getting a big sticker for the back that says “Odyssey.” Because we want to be sure that nobody doesn’t notice exactly what model of car we drive.

    • NotAPunkRocker says:

      Stick figures? Anti-stick figures to show how you hate the stick figure trend, which is now its own trend?

      The possibilities are endless!

    • The Cutter says:

      I’m thinking maybe “superhero family” stick figures.

  6. stephrogers says:

    Ahhh you can make that shit look good! Put sub woofers in, turn up the Wiggles, with base, dark glasses on, window down. You’re gonna rock it!

  7. mistyslaws says:

    Noooooo!! Aw man, I can’t believe you caved! I refuse . . . REFUSE to drive a minivan. And, as you know, I will soon be in the exact same situation as you, with the whole three kid car seat dilemma and all. I drive an SUV, but it’s sort of smallish (not CR-V small, but still), and I just don’t think we can do it. But I adamantly refuse to go the minivan route. We’re gonna need a bigger boat, but that boat will most likely be a bigger SUV.

Got Something to Say?

