The 31 Days of Blogging: The Force Awakens

It’s December, so you know what that means at The Cutter Rambles!

Wait…you don’t? Oh, okay.

I guess most of you aren’t truly dedicated fans of The Cutter Rambles. (Don’t worry, I love my casual readers too!) You may not know that for the past three years, I’ve written a new post every day in December. (Last year, I even extended the streak eleven days into January.)

With today being December 1st, I’d like to formally welcome you all to yet another year of…

31DaysOfBlogging

Three years ago, I assumed that at some point down the line I’d come up with a more clever name. (Spoiler alert: I haven’t.)

All of my past December 1st posts have been very similar: I talk about my goal to write something new every day, and then express my doubts about actually being able to accomplish that goal.

For those of you who enjoy consistency, you’ll be happy to know that I’m REALLY skeptical that I’ll be able to meet my goal this year.

I might have been busy in previous Decembers, but I only had one child to worry about. Now, in addition to that child (who is still quite a handful), I have infant twins to take care of. This doesn’t leave me with a lot of idle time.

Still, I’m going to do my best to post something here every day. Some of it may definitely will be filler, and I’ll likely have at least a couple of guest posts.

Will I succeed? Stay tuned.

As for today’s post…

I’ve talked about Star Wars on December 1st the past two years, so I figured I’d stick with that theme for this year.

Last week was a big one for Star Wars fans as Disney released the teaser trailer for Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens.

For those of you who may have missed it, take a look:

People have thoroughly analyzed this video, even though there really wasn’t much to analyze. All we really learned is that there’s going to be a black guy in this one (Just please don’t make him Lando’s son. I’m begging you, Lucas – or whoever is in charge of this movie – don’t make him Lando’s son!), and they’ve added a new style of lightsaber.

Honestly, I don’t know what to think of the three-pronged lightsaber. What good are those two side blades really doing, except making the thing a little harder to wield? I’d much rather have Darth Maul’s double-edged lightsaber from Episode I.

Speaking of Episode I, I remember when the teaser trailer to that was released? People were SO excited.

Admittedly, I’m a huge sucker for trailers, and I tend to think just about any movie looks good based on the trailer. Heck, I was watching TV the other night and came across the show called “Nothing but Trailers.” I don’t know how I was able to tear myself away from the screen.

Still, Episode I looked like it was going to contain everything that we hoped for: Lightsabers! Young Obi-Won! Liam Neeson!

And who was the red-faced guy with the double lightsaber? He was going to be the coolest thing EVER!

We should have paid more attention to the goofy alien guy who took up a lot more screen time than Darth Maul did. At least, he didn’t escape the attention of the South Park writers.

Of course, not everyone out there hates Jar Jar. The guy has at least a few supporters.

The movie will come out in December 2015, so at least that will give me something to write about during next year’s 31 Days of Blogging.

As for this year, here are just a few of the things that I plan to write about:

  • The greatest song of all time
  • Disney Princesses
  • Religion
  • G.I. Joe

And rumor has it that both The Fear Boger and Michael Bublé might make appearances again this year.

So make sure you check back every day, because it’s sure to be a thrilling month!

P.S. As mentioned, I could use some guest posts to fill a few days this month. Would anyone out there like to write something? If so, please let me know in the comments!

About The Cutter

I am the Cutter. I write some stuff. You might like it, you might not. Please decide for yourself.
This entry was posted in 31 Days of Blogging, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The 31 Days of Blogging: The Force Awakens

  1. NotAPunkRocker says:

    I remember my ex being so thrilled about Episode I when we saw the trailer and me just saying “I don’t know about this….”

    That said, I feel much better about this one 🙂 Check out the Lego-fied one and the “George Lucas” editions if you can, those were fun to watch.

    Greatest song of all time? Color me intrigued…

  2. Brian Savoie says:

    I’m cautiously intrigued…if only because a certain ship that does the Kessel Run is back in action. If the plot is junk and the characters a crap, I can put a ‘bag over its head’ with mute, play dark side of the moon, and watch the Falcon fly, brother, fly!

  3. The Hook says:

    Why does everyone rag on Lando?
    He’s Billy Dee, for Pete’s sake!

    • The Cutter says:

      I have no problem with Lando. I just would roll my eyes if the second black character (excluding the prequels) they introduced happened to be related to the first.

  4. This is timely since another one of my fellow bloggers Draliman did a lot of Jar Jar praising in a recent post. Along with C.K. Hope, that gives us three card carrying members of the Jar Jar fan club! We will prevail!

    Thanks for the linkback, and I look forward to another 31 days of Cutter…

  5. Pingback: The Cutter’s December 2nd Post of Magnificence! | The Cutter Rambles

  6. Pingback: A Belated Look Back at my Year in Blogging | The Cutter Rambles

  7. Pingback: The 31 Days of Blogging: The Force Awakens Again, I Guess? | The Cutter Rambles

  8. Pingback: Trailers, Trailers Everywhere! | The Cutter Rambles

  9. Pingback: Pointing Out Flaws in Star Wars: The Force Awakens (SPOILER WARNING) | The Cutter Rambles

Got Something to Say?

